Listening to the Soul

Remember Pinocchio? There is a Jiminy Cricket on your shoulder, giving the very best advice. It is you, your authentic self, the one you were in first grade, before you learned to massage your personality into a form that would suit others. Sometimes it’s hard to hear its message because all the external voices are so loud, so shrill…, so adamant. Voices that are loud are always meant to bully. Do not be bullied. Acts of bravery don’t always take place on battlefields. They can take place in your heart, when you have the courage to honor your character, your intellect, you inclinations, and, yes, your soul by listening to its clean, clear voice of direction instead of following the muddled messages of a timid world. So carry your courage in an easily accessible place, the way you do your cell phone or your wallet. You may still falter or fail, but you will always know that you pushed hard and aimed high.

Anna Quindlen

Our souls whisper to us – theirs are the voices that come from our hearts.  Our souls know who we really are.  Who we are meant to be.  Sadly, most of the time, the voices in our heads are much louder and much more demanding.  We tend to ignore the soul, and  go with our heads.  And then we run into trouble.

Our heads do not have our long-term interests in mind.  Our heads live in the now, with no concern for the future.  Our heads cause us to act in the heat of the moment.

I challenge you today to be still and listen.  Quiet your thoughts and just listen.  What do you hear?  The soul is often so used to being stifled that it may take some time before you hear anything.  Be patient with yourself.  Don’t rush it.  Close your eyes if you have to.  Breathe deep.  Focus on that one thing – your breathing.

My soul is telling me to write.  It sounds simple, doesn’t it?  My head threatens to get in the way, complaining that I am writing, can’t my soul see?  But I know what it all means.  I have to write more.  I just have to.  And I will.  Sometimes when I get inspired, it quickly peters out, because I stop listening to my soul, and start listening to my head.  But I am determined.

If not now, then when?  I must seize the day.  Life is too short to do anything else.

3 thoughts on “Listening to the Soul

  1. Pingback: Your voice touches Soul « Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog

I'd love to know what you think!

