Somehow, someway, this has gotta end….

Neuroblastoma, I will end you!

I keep finding more and more neuroblastoma stories on facebook.  It is heartbreaking.  What did little children do to deserve it?  What really breaks my heart is that these cancer patients have no idea what’s happening to them.  They are hurting and everything around them is strange and confusing.  It shouldn’t be happening, but it is.

I keep thinking of Ronan, Sierra, Cora…  There are countless others, I know.  There are so many names.  Eden.  Ashleigh.  Hannah.  Brandon.  Noah.  Michael.  So many angel warriors.  It isn’t right.  It isn’t fair.

It’s heartbreaking.

Every name, every story I read just strengthens my resolve.  And yet…  where is the awareness?  You hear of nothing but breast cancer awareness in October, see nothing but pink everywhere you turn.  But what about in September, childhood cancer awareness month?  Where is the yellow ribbons, the yellow yogurt lids?  Yellow anything?!  I guess you have to go to a hospital pediatric ward to see the yellow.

It is almost taboo.

And it is sad and wrong.  W-R-O-N-G!

The first step to awareness is someone willing to take a stand.  These babies deserve every single chance.  There are about 650 new cases a year in the U.S. alone.

I am standing up for them.  I will continue to tell my story. I will continue to fight.  I will help vanquish this monster.  I believe this is part of the reason why I am still here.

3 thoughts on “Somehow, someway, this has gotta end….

I'd love to know what you think!

