“You Are Headed for a Land of Sunshine.”

Katie Hears A Who

“You are headed for a land of sunshine.”  That is what my Jones bottle cap said last night.  I love it.  Who doesn’t want to head for a land of sunshine?  Especially when it is more gray than blue outside, but still in the 80s…  That is a Washington summer for you!

Yesterday, Tammy came to spend the day with me.  She had found her wedding dress on Thursday, and she brought it to model for my mom and I.  Aliza was here too.  After she had put on the dress, she came out of my room and handed me a manilla envelope.  I was like, “What’s this?”  But she refused to say anything so I just opened it.  I pulled out a photo collage of us and it had these words at the top:  “Let’s create another memory together…  Will you be my bridesmaid?  July 07, 2012.”  I grinned from ear to ear and handed it to my mom.  She read it and instantly teared up, which made Tammy tear up too.  Yes, yes, yes, I’ll be your bridesmaid a thousand times over, TJ!  Anything for you.

We spent the day watching The X-Files (I am slowly making my way through the gazillion episodes, and like every other female X-Files fan, I am in love with Mulder) and scrapbooking the pictures that we took at the end of May/beginning of June (At one point there was an unfortunate incident involving Aliza peeing on my lap – oh boy). I’ll see Tammy again for sure before she goes back to Yuma on Friday the 15th. She’s getting in quality parent time!

I recently finished The Hunger Games trilogy.  Sunday night, I had a dream (nightmare, actually, if you want to get technical) where the Glee cast was in the hunger games.  If you are not familiar with the books, it takes place in a post-apocalyptic world, about a girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in the country of Panem (where North America once was).  They have a very powerful (meaning, of course, evil) government in this country that works out of the Capitol.  The Hunger Games are an annual televised event where the Capitol officials draw the names of one boy and one girl from each district in the country to fight to the death.  What is the point of this, you ask?  Well, that is a very good question, and the answer is that the Hunger Games exist to prove to the citizens of Panem that not even children are beyond the reach of the Capitol.

Sounds like terrorism, right?

So you can imagine that my dream wasn’t very pretty.  Imagine the Glee kids killing each other.  Exactly.  I was like NOOOOOOO!  And then I woke up and realized it was just a dream.  Thank goodness.

A land of sunshine sounds good, right about now, doesn’t it?  Hugs and puppies and rainbows!  Or as Katie says in Horton Hears A Who, “In my world, everyone’s a pony, and they all eat rainbows and poop butterflies!”

I'd love to know what you think!

