Imagine

Imagine for a moment, if you will, after we die… there is nothing.

Of course, I don’t believe it. There has to be something. After all, we are made up of energy, and energy just doesn’t evaporate. It has to go somewhere. What if there’s nothing but infinite darkness? Well, that is something, right? So there can’t be nothing because something is something, and nothing is nothing.

Arrgh. I feel like I am talking in riddles. Why is a raven like a writing desk? Because you can baffle billions of people with both. HA. Edgar Allen Poe and Lewis Carroll can both confirm this, although they are both dead…

Nothing, by itself, is infinite. I very much doubt that the world was spun out of it. God has to exist. There has to be magic in the afterlife. There has to be more meaning to life than “nothing.” I would very much hate it if, when I died, there was nothing else. Of course, I wouldn’t know I’d hate it because… again, I would be nothing. For the people who aren’t quite whole in this life (me included… don’t start!) dying means waking up to hope. Waking up to possibilities that we could only dream about in our previous lives.

So… I think there has to be a heaven where everything is as it should be. Where everything’s light and nothing’s heavy. No tears, only laughter. And love. So much love that we can’t conceive of it in this life. We’d have to be there to believe it. IT IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. Seeing is believing, after all.

I don’t think we are truly meant to be happy on this earth, but that does not stop us from trying our best to get there. For me, it’s simple. If the people around me are happy, I am too. But there’s always an ache deep down inside. A little voice saying nothing is quite right, that I’m not where I should be. I’m not WHO I should be. We’re always reaching for the unknown here. That’s just life, you know?

I refuse to believe that that this is all we get. This life. One chance. One shot. There has to be more in store for us. I don’t want to be forgotten. I don’t want my life to add up to nothing (there is that word again). We have to have God-sized purposes. Like I told a friend not too long ago, “Can you imagine if God just plopped us down on earth, patted us on our heads, and said, ‘Whelp! This is your life. Make of it what you will. Good luck.'”

Nope. Sorry. Try me again.

If left to our own devices, most of us wouldn’t even last 2 minutes without running into disaster. Making messes is a human specialty, don’t you agree?

Of course, there are some answers that won’t be answered in this life. These are the hard ones, the ones about suffering. The “WHY?” questions are always the toughest. Why did I get cancer? Why did that child die when I didn’t? Why, why, why? These are endless. Maybe the answers are so simple that we will kick ourselves for not thinking of them while we were still here on earth. Maybe… And maybe they’re highly complicated. Who really knows, in this life?

So, in short, there can’t be nothing after this life, because that would just be pointless, really. We are not here by random accident. There is a rhyme and a reason for everything, even if we can’t see it while we’re still here.

2 thoughts on “Imagine

  1. Thanks for sharing what’s inside your head Danielle:) I do believe that heaven will be *perfect*. I’m sure you especially will appreciate it after your physical and emotional struggles you’ve endured in this life. Jesus is good, and his promises are true!

  2. You can ask “Why?” or you can stop playing the victim and do the best with the hand you were dealt. Easier said than done, but everything can be a learning experience if you let it.
    Great post – you should link up with this week’s What If?

I'd love to know what you think!