An Alternate, Happier Ending to “City of Angels” Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

On the way back to the cabin, Maggie takes her hands off the handlebars and spreads her arms out wide, looking up at the sky. It’s a beautiful day. She smiles to herself and grips the bike again, returning her gaze to the road ahead of her. She’s in a hurry, can’t wait to get back to Seth. She hears a truck coming and moves to the side of the road to let it pass.

Back at the cabin, she encounters Seth waiting for her at the table. He gets up and walks over to her, kissing her tenderly on the forehead. She smiles and kisses him on the mouth.

Seth: “Where were you? I was worried.”

Maggie: “I had to pick up some stuff. To finish making our dinner. Seth?”

Seth: “Yes?”

Maggie: “You like children, right? I mean, they like you.”

Seth: (smiles) “Yes.”

Maggie: “What if… what if I adopted a baby?”

Seth: “A baby?”

Maggie: “Yes, a baby. There’s this beautiful little boy at the hospital. He was abandoned. He has no one. I was thinking, I could be his mother.”

Seth: “And me?”

Maggie: (blushes, smiles) “You could… if you wanted… be his father.”

Seth: (smiles again) “Would it make you happy?”

Maggie: “Yes.”

Seth: “If you’re happy, I’m happy.”

Maggie: “I have to finish dinner. And then I have calls to make.” She squeals with delight and spins around, chattering, unheard by the audience. Seth is grinning behind her, pleased with how happy she is.

Montage of scenes: Maggie’s left hand with a diamond ring, joined by Seth’s with a gold band, Seth and Maggie in court getting temporary custody of the baby, Seth and Maggie bringing the baby home and standing under a homemade sign with crooked letters that says “Happy Dopton Day, Baby Austin!” Nathan and his family are there, and Maggie and Seth are looking at each other and laughing at the misspelled sign.

7 months later:

Maggie’s on a balcony and sipping coffee from a mug. Seth comes up behind her and slips his arms around her waist, cupping her protruding stomach with both hands. She closes her eyes and smiles.

Maggie: “Has all this been worth it to you?”
(She doesn’t open her eyes but it is clear she is listening intently for his answer, turning her head to rest it on his chest.

Seth: “Maggie. How can you ask me that?”

Maggie: (opens her eyes) “I just worry sometimes. That your eyes will be open and you’ll see me as I really am, that you will finally know I am not as perfect as you think…”

Seth: (puts a finger against her lips) “Stop. How can you even ask such a thing?”

Maggie: “Just answer. Please.”

Seth: “Maggie. You know the answer. Before I fell, I didn’t even know… I didn’t know anything, really. I didn’t know what your hair felt like when I touched it. I had no idea what it felt like to kiss you, no idea what it felt like to be touched by your hand. But now I do. Would I rather spend eternity without this knowledge? No. Even if I lost you tomorrow, it’d all be worth it to me, because I once had you. I have you, Maggie. Do you have any idea how precious that gift is to me?”

Maggie: (cries in his arms) “I do. I do know, because that is exactly how I feel about you.”

Seth: “Oh, my love!” He kisses away her tears and the scene fades to black when their lips meet.

2 thoughts on “An Alternate, Happier Ending to “City of Angels” Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I'd love to know what you think!

