Measuring Up

We all do it – compare ourselves with others and feel like we come up short. After all, anyone and everyone has it better than us, right?

Wrong.

I am thinking of that saying, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.” It’s true. That is all the measuring up we have to do. This world is tough enough on its own. Kindness takes some of the sting away.

When I was in school, I used to think that if I just had friends, I could be just like everyone else. That if people would just stop and talk to me for awhile, they’d see that I was nothing like I seemed. I knew how it was. I was reminded of how it was every single time I looked into a mirror. Still am. I thought, “I can’t blame them. I wouldn’t want to be friends with that girl either.”

And yet. I was stuck with her. I had no choice whatsoever. To me, it’s like I am a split personality. There’s the outside me, and there’s the inside me. I only see the inside me. And the world only sees the outside me. But I know I am lucky. My family and friends see all of me.

I think it is time the outside of me measures up to the inside of me.

I have been chosen by God. ~ Ephesians 1:3-8
I am complete in Christ. ~ Colossians 2:9-10
God works for my good in all circumstances. ~ Romans 8:28
I can’t be separated from God’s love. ~ Romans 8:31-32
I may approach God with freedom and confidence. ~ Ephesians 3:12
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me ~ Philippians 4:13 (My personal favorite!)

Measuring up, to me, means living up to my true potential. Which means writing EVERY SINGLE DAY, even if it’s only a little bit.

One thought on “Measuring Up

I'd love to know what you think!

