Every Once in a While, You Come Across PURE GOLD

I am talking GOLD as in a real good book. “A Watershed Year” by Susan Schoenberger is so freakin’ good I didn’t want to put it down. I managed to do it though, only once. Once I got to the heart of the story, there was no stopping me, even though common sense told me I better put it down and turn off the light and get some sleep.

Sleep? Who needs sleep when you’ve got a delicious book?

“It made me feel better to think that we could talk, somehow, beyond the end of my life, that I could preserve my presence in some small way. And I haven’t told you everything I should have. I wasn’t finished yet, at least where you are concerned…”
~ from “A Watershed Year”

The book is about a thirty-something year old woman named Lucy who is mourning the death of her best friend Harlan, who died of cancer. Two months after his death, she receives an email from him, the first of several he has arranged to be sent after his death. It is only through these emails that Lucy fully realizes that Harlan had been in love with her. His first email sparks something deep inside her – her yearning to be a mother – and she starts looking into adoption. She finds this Russian agency that is run by a woman named Yulia, and on her second visit, Yulia hands her a picture of a four year old boy named Azamat. His mother was in a car accident and his father gave him up. Lucy forges ahead with the adoption, traveling to Russia to get the little boy. When she meets him for the first time, she realizes that he is hurting and that he is just as lost as she is. They eventually learn to trust each other, and are just beginning to heal when Azamat’s father comes from Russia to reclaim his little boy. He claims that he had never signed the papers surrendering his parental rights (and therefore Lucy could get into BIG trouble for taking little Mat out of his home country).

That’s all I can say without giving away the end…

I highly recommend this! Trust me, you won’t want to put it down! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Every Once in a While, You Come Across PURE GOLD

I'd love to know what you think!

