You will never guess what today has been declared….

It’s National “Make A Mistake” day. Yep. Seriously.

Wouldn’t it be awesome if we could make all our annual mistakes on this one day, and the rest of the year be as perfect as you please? It would mean one bad day a year. Only one. And everything would that could go wrong would. We’d stub our toes getting out of bed, we’d be out of shampoo or conditioner in the shower, we’d slip on the bar of soap and bang our heads so hard we’d see stars. And there’d be no creamer for the coffee or milk for the cereal. And then the big things would begin. Bank robberies, murders, kidnappings. Car accidents galore. Complete and utter chaos for 24 hours.

If that happened, I think the country as a whole would take the day off, eventually. Once everybody understood that October 1st would be the day they make all their mistakes, they’d hide away in their houses. There would be no signs of life on the streets. The highways would be silent. Even the animals would hibernate.

And if there were people going through cancer treatment or other serious illnesses, no major decisions would be made on this day. Because people would know that whatever decisions they make, those choices would be the wrong ones.

But if the world was really like that, I don’t think we would be able to avoid making the mistakes we are destined to. Even if we could live mistake free, what would be the point of that? We’d learn nothing that way. We need to make enough mistakes to learn and grow. There would be no growth in that mistake-free world, no way of moving forward. We’d be stuck in a never-ending cycle. We’d just go round and round and round, until we finally drop dead of exhaustion. Or maybe boredom.

I think we can all agree that mistakes are what keep life interesting. They’re even entertaining sometimes. Think of television shows, movies, and books that revolve around characters who make mistake after mistake. Mistakes are often what lead us to where we are supposed to be in the end. I can’t avoid making mistakes. You can’t, either. Alexander Pope is well known for saying, “to err is human; to forgive, divine.” And I concur.

Everyday I don’t write, I make a mistake. It doesn’t matter that I am always daydreaming and writing in my head. If I don’t get it down on paper or type it out, often it’s fleeting, like a bird. If I don’t make something permanent, it’s gone forever. Sometimes I get lucky. Sometimes it comes back to me, like in a dream. I know writing helps me define who I am to myself and to the people surrounding me. And someday, maybe, hopefully, prayerfully, I will define who I am to the world. Because I’ll tell you what I am not. I am not weak, despite how I may look on the outside. I am not impassive. I am not perfect. I am not immune. And most of the time, I am not living for myself. The world touches me in ways that probably only I can understand. If I try to explain, my words will come out incoherent, even on here.

I am strong. I feel everything, all that I am and all that I will be tomorrow and the next day. I am imperfect, yes, but that is only because I am human. And it’s okay. I don’t have to be perfect. Like 2 Corinthians 12:9 says, His grace is sufficient for me, for his power is made perfect in weakness.

8 thoughts on “You will never guess what today has been declared….

  1. And if there were no mistakes, we wouldn’t get to laugh through the bloopers at the end! I agree, we learn the most from our mistakes. I think they stick in our minds sometimes more than our accomplishments. Thanks for the great post – nice to meet you from the Ultimate Blog Challenge! ~Suerae

  2. I agree with you–there are no mistakes, no accidents. everything happens perfectly no matter how we feel in the moment things fail o go as anticipated. Excellent post.

  3. Oh darn, I read this at 10 minutes to midnight. Now I have to rush around and make a bunch of mistakes in the next 10 minutes. Seriously, I think this was an excellent post. Tweeting.

  4. Thanks for a great outlook on our mistakes. We all have them! It’s a common bond we share. My daughter took a different approach to Make a Mistake Day and scored a perfect ten on her halt at horse competition.

I'd love to know what you think!

