Sunshine

If I were a television producer, I would be so in the public’s face with childhood cancer awareness. My show would be fictional (because I cannot STAND reality television), and I would call it “Sunshine.” It would revolve around 7 families battling various forms of cancer in the same town, same hospital. Most likely it would be a prime time drama like Grey’s Anatomy, but instead of focusing on the doctors, it will portray the families. And at the end of every single episode, there would be a real child who has battled cancer or is battling cancer. And you can bet your bottom dollar that neuroblastoma is going to be one of them.

The more I think about this, the more I like it. I’d have to write it as a novel first, try to get people interested and more aware of this monster. Novels get television deals all the time. And maybe I’d just be a co-producer instead of the head producer, and maybe I could write for the show too, or co-write. The pilot will start with day one, the diagnoses. Nothing will be held back. It will be bold and it will be sad and it will be in-your-face.

I would call it “Sunshine” for various reasons. There’s nothing brighter than the sun. Nothing brighter than hope. My mom told me she used to sing me “You Are My Sunshine” when I was sick. Also, when the sun rises, there is a vast amount of light spilling to earth, chasing the darkness away. Children with cancer are battling a darkness, and it is up to us to help them fight.

Each show would be dedicated to a Warrior or an Angel, complete with pictures. If that won’t get the attention and awareness that childhood cancer so deserves, I don’t know what will.

2 thoughts on “Sunshine

  1. Danielle, this is brilliant!!! If I were you, I would go ahead and do a script for a pilot and submit it to all the networks…if they didn’t jump on this they would be fools! Girl, GO FOR IT!!! God bless!

I'd love to know what you think!

