Why is Chocolate getting a bad rep in TV Shows and Books?

That slice of pie looks good doesn’t it?  Before this past year, I would have thought so too, despite the fact that I probably wouldn’t have eaten the whole thing, if it was really rich-tasting.

Unfortunately (or fortunately…  my eyes love me some David Boreanaz – especially when he isn’t wearing a shirt), I watch the FOX show “Bones.”  For those of you who don’t know, that show is about a forensic anthropologist who works with a FBI agent (Boreanaz).  Most of the murder scenes are very grisly.  You don’t want to know.  But, I am going to tell you about one:  Last season, they found a body in a giant chocolate bar.  It was being cut up and blood gushed out.  I was SO mad.  My stomach nearly lost its contents.  Why?  Tell me why, people, did they have to go and ruin chocolate like that for me?  I know it’s just a television show, but it looked so real.

And then there’s “The Help.”  Minny’s “Terrible, Awful.”  What she did to that chocolate pie she served her boss’s daughter (who, by the way, SO deserved it – she was the main antagonist in the story).  I cracked up laughing when I read what Minny did, and I laughed at the movie too.  So hard.  But it made me suspicious.  The pie at the top of this post?  Yeah, I probably would pass on it now.  I can’t help it.  People always say, mind over matter.  Well.  That is what is happening here.  My mind automatically goes to the last place I want it to go.  And I hate it.  I really do.

I am going to get over this.  I.  AM. GOING. TO. GET. OVER. THIS.  I just need a little more time.  After all, what normal girl can live without her chocolate (oh, yeah, Valerie, I haven’t forgotten about you…  silly girl)?  I haven’t the faintest idea why chocolate is getting such a bad rep these days.  Do you?

7 thoughts on “Why is Chocolate getting a bad rep in TV Shows and Books?

  1. It’s not really a bad rap…Chocolate is sort of this symbol of the only taste of luxury and indulgence that is available to the masses. By using it to get back at a boss’s daughter, it’s a class-warfare comment. By putting a chopped up body inside of it, it’s a subversion of the normative hegemony…kind of like angry spirits who wreak havoc on innocent bystanders in Japanese horror films (Like The Grudge, the Japanese version). It’s a symbol commenting that something is seriously wrong with society. But it’s not a comment about chocolate itself as an object.

  2. it is a conspiracy i believe
    a conspiracy against chocolate and women.

    don.t they know that some of us need their chocolate desperately at certain times of the month?

    i know and love bones too, and the german dubbed in series is a bit behind the us-show.
    and i know why i hide my eyes behind a blanket at certain scenes.

    thanks for the hint ;D

  3. Hmmmm….sounds like a good case for giving up TV, books, and movies! LOL Here’s to happier chocolate days ahead!

I'd love to know what you think!

