The Path of Possibility

Would you go down this path, just to see where it leads?  I wish I could say I definitely would, but the truth is, you never know what you would do until you are faced with a choice.  I love pictures like this though – they are so mysterious, full of possibilities and intrigue.  If you follow it, you don’t know where you’d end up.  It’d be an adventure.  And you can always turn back if you get scared.

There is a lot of symbolism in paths.  They stand for the unknown.  Possibilities.  Everything you or I can imagine just might be waiting around the bend.  If I were to write a short story about the above picture, it would probably be one of suspense.  Not horror, mind you, but suspense.  When I was in high school, people would ask me what I wanted to write, and I would say “horror.”  The reason for this is because back then, horror movies resonated with my life.  I could identify with the girls who run for their lives but in the end get killed.  I felt like that, like I was running but getting nowhere.  And pretty soon, I was going to get caught and it would all be over for me.  I don’t like these kind of movies anymore.  Joss Whedon, the creator of the show Buffy the Vampire Slayer, once said that the show was about giving power back to the helpless blonde who was forever getting trapped in the alleys in those movies.  Amen!  I thought.  And so I became the biggest EVER BtVS fan in my area.  That is how it was.

I don’t want to write horror anymore.  I can’t justify creating nightmares for myself and for other people.  Horror doesn’t speak to me anymore.  It scares the daylights out of me.  Perhaps it always did, but it took movies like “The Ring” and “The Grudge” (American version, thank you very much – I wouldn’t be able to handle the Japanese version.  The only reason I was able to handle the American version was because Sarah Michelle Gellar is in it.  I am a loyal fan.) to get me to swear them off forever.  But I can write suspense, I think, as long as the stories have happy endings or semi-happy endings.  I haven’t tried.  But maybe, for Halloween this year, I will.  Maybe I’ll write a story about the picture at the top of this post.  The possibilities are endless.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Path of Possibility

  1. The picture at the top I think would lead to a great story. But stopping horror and going to suspense, you should follow your heart. It is your stories, so you should love to write what you want, just be true to yourself.

  2. I used to love horror movies too, not so much anymore.. they are just predictable and not fun anymore. I would usually just crack up at anyone who would get scared by them. I find it amusing to watch their faces.
    I really love your writing and your ideas and I wish you wrote those stories, but it’s never too late. ;]
    I would deffinitely read anything you write. (Working on reading all your blog posts!!)

I'd love to know what you think!

