It wouldn’t be Halloween tomorrow without this…

It’s Thriller time!  Years ago when I had cancer and was sick with chemo, I was the biggest little Michael Jackson fan.  I had a little Fisher Price tape player always by my side, and MJ’s Thriller tape was always in it.  My mom once told me that when the nurses woke me up in the middle of the night to take my vitals and everything, I would start crying, and would continue to cry until my mom or dad switched MJ on.  Only then would I calm down and go back to sleep.  When I lost my hair, someone sent me a curly wig and I would put that on, get a microphone, and sing along with MJ.  Of course, I don’t think I even got half the words right!

I was 9 or 10 when my mom first let me watch the Thriller music video.  Maybe it was around Halloween.  I don’t remember.  I was fascinated by it, and it spiraled into my interest in R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series – which led to my obsession with the horror genre, leading me to authors like Christopher Pike and Stephen King.  I started watching horror movies soon after.  I remember once my cousin Carol and I (She was 13 and I was 14) were visiting my grandparents on Camano Island in the summer for a week, and my grandpa asked us if we wanted to watch a movie.  They had satellite tv, which, to us, was huge (neither of us  had it at home yet).  Movies galore.  Anyway, we found one that was about a babysitter who calls up her friend after the kid she was watching went to bed.  They made prank calls to random people in the phone book, saying, “I know who you are and I know what you did” and then hanging up.  They actually end up calling a man who had just committed murder, and so naturally he goes after the girls.  Eeeee!  It scares me just thinking about it.  Anyway, as the movie credits were starting, Carol chickened out and said she didn’t want to watch it anymore.  She babysat often back home.  Now I understand that, and wish I had gone along with her and just gone to sleep.  But no.  I had to get mad at her and storm upstairs, where my grandparents put me in another guest room.  I watched it all by myself and was completely freaked out.

Lesson learned, right?  Do not watch horror movies by myself.  In fact, avoid them altogether!  Wrong.  It took another decade or so for me to swear off the major horror movies.  Every now and then, like last week, I like to torture myself by watching creepy Lifetime movies.  I watched two of them on Tuesday.  Scared myself out of my mind.  Is that possible?  Yes, I think so.  Because I was scared out of my mind that night.  Good thing I had Buffy with me.  Buffy the Shih Tzu and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  If I just think, what would BtVS do? I feel better.  A little bit.  She would have kicked ghostly and evil twin butt, is what she would have done!

Do not like ghosts.  Do not like evil twins.  Hate insane serial killers.  What’s left?  Inspirational movies with messages.  Romantic-comedies.  Yes, please.  Sometimes, a little suspense.  But not out-and-out-horror.  I’ve watched the first 3 Scream movies years ago.  I refuse to see the fourth.  I constantly add scary movies to my netflix queue only to take them off later.  So I am insane.  What else is new?

One thought on “It wouldn’t be Halloween tomorrow without this…

I'd love to know what you think!

