Project Awareness Santa

Unless it is a part of your life, you probably don’t think of childhood cancer on a daily basis.  There are so many things that deserve your time and money, things just as bad as cancer.  There’s hunger, muscular dystrophy, AIDS, poverty, teenage parenthood, 3rd world countries, child abuse, spousal abuse…  I could go on and on and on.  My cause is just as worthy, because its victims are the most innocent.  Every day children are dying because a monster is ravishing their bodies.  You could say I was one of the lucky ones.  I lived, didn’t I?  With physical consequences.  I believe now that God spared me for a reason, so that I could do something about it – join the fight.  It will not be a easy fight, but in the end – and I believe there will be a END to childhood cancer – it will be worth it.

There is this team online called Love n’ Pray.  Their purpose, first and foremost, is to pray for children who have cancer.  You can find them on facebook.  On their personal website, they have the following:

My heroes don’t wear capes. They don’t fly or have super powers, can’t stop speeding bullets. My heroes, they do even better stuff. They have chemicals poured into their bodies, they withstand being poked & prodded multiple times a day, they push limits to find their strength and they do it with a smile! My heroes are the kids who fight cancer, who have no clue what is gonna happen everyday..

They do all sorts of things besides just praying.  They send out Loveboxes to children fighting cancer, They have cancer stories on their website too.  They know getting the word out is one of the best things they could possibly be doing right now.  If people start talking about this, start spreading awareness, then eventually the right ears will hear.  I believe I’ve said that on here before, but I cannot stress enough.  Keep talking, people!  Keep spreading awareness.

One of the ways to do that is to become an Awareness Santa.  This Christmas, reach out in your community to help raise awareness for childhood cancer.  We aim for gold to do for childhood cancer what pink has done for breast cancer.  Please help spread awareness to help our heroes!  I feel like I am repeating myself over and over but it cannot be said enough.

You can order an awareness poster from Love n’ Pray for just $3.  The poster comes in 2 versions – Greek and English – so be sure to specify which one you want.  It says “Dear Santa, All I want for Christmas is a CURE!”  and it has childhood cancer facts.  As soon as you receive your poster, you can hang it wherever you want – such as at church, your place of business, a school, a hospital, etc.  Just be sure to get permission before you attach it somewhere public.  If you take a photo of you and the poster, send it to Love n’ Pray so that they can put it up on their website and make you an “Awareness Santa.”

5 thoughts on “Project Awareness Santa

  1. I’m hoping you can help me, this year I lost my 3 yr old niece to Neuroblastoma after an 18 month battle. I, like so many others, was really unaware of the impact of Childhood Cancer on the chlid, family and friends. To honor Rylie, I started a petititon on Change.Org to encourage the MLB to wear Gold in September to spread awareness of Childhood Cancer. While September is sill far aware, it takes time to encourage the MLB to help. Please consider signing and sharing the petition below. It only takes 2 minutes, but the impact when we are successful will be tremendous. With awareness comes funding to support research to discover the cure.
    Every child matters ❤
    http://www.change.org/petitions/major-league-baseball-wear-gold-in-september-to-raise-childhood-cancer-awareness-and-funding

    p.s. love the poster, i'll be getting one for my office.

  2. Yes, I will help you! I’ve signed. I am so sorry about your niece. I have a 2 and a half year old niece, and really can’t imagine seeing her go through what I, and so many others,have. It just breaks my heart! I will write up your petition as a blog post to get others to sign as well. Thank you for bringing this to my attention! 🙂

  3. Thank you for helping raise awareness D. You are a hero and there are so many others. We continue to pray and to help spread the news that Yes, Kids Get Cancer Too!

I'd love to know what you think!

