Colorful Gratitude

So… Today is December 1st.  It is officially the Christmas season. Bing Cosby is singing “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas” on my pandora station.  At the moment, nothing can be further from the truth.  As I write this, the sun is shining and it’s 55 degrees outside.  Of course, I am writing this on Wednesday, not Thursday, so who knows what the weather will actually be like when this is posted?

I don’t want to talk about the weather, but I think the sunshine is really nice.  Even though Mother Nature is schizophrenic at her best.  She can’t make up her mind.  She and God must get a good chuckle out of it.  Sunshine!  No, wait, are those clouds rolling in?  Rain?  Snow?  Ice?  And then sunshine again.

Anyway, here are 3 things I am grateful for today:

1)  Sunshine!  It is truly a blessing at this time of year.  It makes me happy inside.  It brightens EVERYTHING about my day.  Sunshine is a natural mood booster, and it is not hard to understand why.

Oh!  Now one of my most favorite Christmas carols is playing “Sleigh Ride.”  Come on, it’s lovely weather for a sleigh ride together with you.  It’s so bright and cheerful and upbeat.  What’s not to love?

2) Christmas music!  I am not 100% certain, but if I didn’t think people would think I am absolutely crazy, I would play Christmas music 365 (next year, 366) days a year.  Never mind what I said last week about Thanksgiving.  Christmas music takes me to a safe place in my head.  Peace.  It quiets my soul.  But!  I could probably do without “Let it Snow Let it Snow Let it Snow.”  Snow?  No thanks.  Send it all to the North Pole, please.  Somehow.

3)  Caffeine.  Yep.  This is really shallow of me, but I really cannot live without it.  Coffee wakes me up in the morning.  Can’t survive without it.  I am grateful for the person (people?) who dreamed up Mountain Dew Voltage.  Yum! Plus it is blue, my favorite color.  Bonus!

Ahhh…  Harry Simeone Chorale is singing “Little Drummer Boy.”  That song always makes me sad, and sometimes, if I am alone and feeling nostalgic, it makes me cry.  I understand it too well.  What gift would I bring the Little Savior?  Nothing is good enough for what He’s done for me.  I can, of course, bring Him to other people.  He is the Good Shepherd, rounding up lost sheep.  But they have to want to be found.

4 thoughts on “Colorful Gratitude

  1. You are lucky you enjoy Christmas music….it has the the ability to drive me bonkers….have been listening to it in some shops since the end of September…and it’s the same CD that they have been playing the whole time…doesn’t do much to get me in the Christmas spirit I’m afraid….

  2. Coffee, christmas carols, and sunshine??? What about hot chocolate (with marshmallows of course), christmas carols, and a fire in the fireplace with snow outside where it can’t get us!! 😀

I'd love to know what you think!

