Stealing from the night

If I ever need more time to do something, be it writing, watching something on TV, shopping for gifts (almost done with that one, by the way), daily hygiene rituals, etc, I just take it.  Normally, this means screwing up everything including my body clock.  I make up for the extra time by staying up late to finish what I want to accomplish that day.  I become a vampire of sorts (haha).

Now, I don’t really have an extensive to-to list.  Nobody really holds me accountable for anything, except taking care of myself and the dogs.  I don’t have to do anything.  I write because I want to.  I write because I want to stick my neck out a window and shout “Hello!” to the world.  I want people to know that I am here and that I am trying, really, really trying to reach them.

Let’s say I had some sort of emergency this week, or even this month, that required me to spend an hour a day, every day doing something I don’t normally do.  What could it be, I have no idea.  Oh.  Visiting a sick friend in the hospital?  Yes, for the sake of this post, let’s say one of my friends or family members was hospitalized and I went to visit him/her every day (I really hope I don’t jinx anybody with this post).  I can see doing myself doing this.  Too bad I can’t drive (a car).  Maybe someday, I’ll have a chauffeur, one that can pick me up on a whim, know exactly what he/she is doing, and I can go wherever I want whenever I want.

Nice dream, huh?

Anyway, back to the friend in the hospital.  I  am visiting because it is visiting hours and I wanted to  make my friend’s day a little brighter.  I only stay for one hour because I don’t want to exhaust him/her.  I bring something every time, a card and flowers one day, a stuffed animal the next, a cheery picture for their bulletin board (I know hospitals a little too well), sneak in a meal from a fast food place, etc.

What happens when I do something out of the ordinary?  I get thrown off track (we all do), and I become a night owl in order to accomplish all that I wanted to in that day (which throws me even more off track).  But you know what?  There is nothing else I’d rather do with my time than to give it to someone else.  I know I will get back on track eventually.  It isn’t the end of the world if I don’t get enough sleep (even though I may feel like it is).  Life, as they say, goes on.

I'd love to know what you think!

