Hope is a One-Way Street

I think it would be nice to live on a street called Hope Street.  Or even Faith Street.  Or Love Street.  Grace Street?  Grace Avenue?  Grace Avenue sounds better.  Hope Avenue.  Yep.  Hope Avenue.  This would be inspiring.  The whole world needs to live on such streets – maybe then people will finally, finally get it.  Someday, the world will be perfect, and until then, I will keep believing, keep hoping, and keep trusting in God.  It was never God’s intention for the world to end up this way.  It was all us.  We have free will, and we chose the world instead of God.

I believe that one day there will be a cure for everything that ails us.  EVERYTHING.  Cancer.  Alzheimer’s. Physical disabilities.  Grief.  Everything.  And we will be able to see what we had missed before – the veil that separates this world from the next will fall away.  Nobody will be in pain anymore.  Our lives will be ideal.  Things will be perfect.

I believe that it is not what happens to us that matters most, but how we react to them.  It makes me think of that saying:  “That which does not kill me makes me stronger.”  I first saw this quote in a tack room of Spurs and Spokes, the 4H club where I was able to take horseback riding lessons for 6 weeks a year.  I haven’t done it in years.  And that makes me sad.  I absolutely loved being in the saddle, no matter that my legs were like jelly after I rode (that feeling eventually went way the more I rode, although now, if I were to go riding today, I imagine I wouldn’t be able to walk at all afterward, I haven’t done it in so long).  I wasn’t afraid, even though my first lesson ever there, my horse spooked and reared up on his hind legs.  Luckily, I had people on both sides of me, and one of them caught me, while the horse stepped on the other person’s foot.  Ouch.  I was probably nine or ten, and I wasn’t fazed at all.  I wanted to get back up there (isn’t that what you’re supposed to do after you fall off a horse?) and was very disappointed when I wasn’t allowed.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.  It is true in my own life, and it is true in yours, even if you can’t see it.  And honestly, what is better, just sit around day after day waiting for you life to end (but taking no action), or doing something and making the world a better place?

If you said the latter, you are correct.

To believe is a powerful thing.  A little bit of faith can lead you on the ride of your life.  I am writing this down because I believe I can get somewhere that is better than here.  Here is nowhere close to where I want to be.  With all my heart, I want to be there, living my biggest and best dream.  And I know I can do it.

I'd love to know what you think!

