Wishes

“[I wish for] a world for our children more just, more fair, and more kind than the one we know now.”  – President Barack Obama, before he was the President.

“As we look around the world today – at the conflicts, the destruction of the environment, the human and animal suffering – it almost seems absurd to say that my wish is for a more peaceful, healthier and happier world. Yet this is the world we all yearn for. And I find that with the image of such a world in my mind and in my heart, it is easier to take action, every day, to move things in the right direction. Of course the road is long and full of disappointments but still it gives me energy to keep going with that goal in sight. Without hope there is no hope. And so I dare to wish for a world in which people live in harmony with each other and with the natural world and all the wondrous animals with whom we share the planet.” – Jane Goodall

I wish the world would be free of hunger and starvation.  That all the children around the world would have a life filled with love and fullfillment of their dreams. – Gary Taylor

I wish for a world where all people are treated with dignity, respect and equality – no matter who you are or who you love.  – Hilary Clinton

A end to violence, all of it.  People learning to live without war.   To live in peace.  Why is world peace so hard to achieve?  Maybe because “world peace”  literally means world peace.  It means everybody having the same beliefs, basically.  The same values.  It means abolishing every single government except for one.  Every single church except for one.  This is why we can’t achieve world peace.  We humans can’t agree, can’t make up our minds.  This is a sad world.  Suicide bombers – really?  Seriously?

Greed.  That is what this world is about.  Not about peace.  It’s about getting all you can for yourself.  I ask you, what is the point of that?  When you die, you can’t take anything with you but your own soul?  And where will you – it – end up?  Do you know?  Do you care?  You should.  Because that is where you’ll be for eternity.

It is my wish that pure peace will settle over you like a blanket.  It is my wish that you know you don’t have to fight so hard because the war’s already been won for you.  You can spark a fire, but someone else will see to it that it burns through the night.  I think you know who I am talking about.  And in case you don’t, it is God.

It is my wish for you to know that you are loved.  LOVED.  What does that mean to you?  Does it make the world seem safer?  Nothing that happens to your body affects your soul.  Do you know that?

I believe this world isn’t all there is.  So why are people living like it is?  I really don’t understand that.  Today may be all we have in the flesh, but we have a beautiful future ahead of us.  And trust me, it will be much, much, much more than you can ever dream it will be.

I'd love to know what you think!

