The Sky is NOT the limit

2012 is coming on us fast.   Another trip around the sun.  365 days.  Tomorrow’s New Year’s Eve, and then, Sunday, January 1, I am starting another round with the Ultimate Blog Challenge group I found on facebook.  Or maybe it found me.  I don’t really remember.   Maybe my posts will become shorter as I begin to work on another writing project.  Whatever happens, it’ll be okay.  I’ll be okay.  I know this because I trust God.

You know that saying, “the sky’s the limit”?  It is less true today, now that man has set foot on the moon. If you aim for the sky, then you are not shooting far enough.  It’s a long way down if you fall.  But if you aim for the moon, yes, you will land among the stars.  

I confess I have been limiting myself.  At times, my thinking I can do something is hindered by this body I am in.  In 2012, I want to stop that.  I want to shoot for the moon.  I think I deserve it.  I won’t listen to the lies my mind tries to feed me.  Who says I can’t do something?  I will prove them wrong. 

For too long now, I’ve been ruled by fear.  This was especially true in high school.  Back then, fear caused me to shut down, and at times, it still does.  But all fear does is hold me back.  And I am sick of it.  So very sick of it.  No more.  I am moving ahead.  I am ready.  

“…make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance…” 2 Peter 1:5a-6a (NIV)

Victory is possible.  There was a time when I didn’t think that was true.  There was no way that could be true, right?  Lies, lies, all of it, lies!  I have to start with baby steps.  They’re a little wobbly, but they will get stronger as time goes by.  I read today that we often care more about long term successes than we do about small victories.  And as a result, these small victories are downplayed, and we end up losing sight of our main goal.  We get discouraged.  The reality of what we want seems so far away.  But we are the ones who are taking the backward steps.  

In Peter 1:5, we are told to add some things to our faith – goodness, knowledge, self-control and perseverance.  I think the last two are particularly important to me, because they are what I need the most.  The first two are no problem.  I strive to be kind no matter what, and I know a lot of things.  And I am still learning.  As for perseverance and self-control, I am working on it.  I am getting ready to shoot for the moon.  

 

I'd love to know what you think!

