What is the meaning of life?

It drives me nuts when I hear people asking what the meaning of life is.  The answer is, of course, different for every single person in the world.  I don’t have the same purpose as you do.  I don’t know what anybody else’s purpose is, only mine.  If somebody came to me and told me that they were aimless and felt like they had no purpose, I would gently take his/her right hand and place it on their chest, over his/her heart.

“Still beating, right?”  I would ask.  “You have purpose.”

It’s like Aibileen Clark says in The Help to Mae Mobley:  “You is kind.  You is smart.  You is important.”  That can be true for each and and every one of us as well.  If we were told this every day when we were growing up, we would come to believe it, right?  I think so.

As few as two years ago, I was just living moment by moment, not really paying any attention to how I spent my time.  All that mattered to me was that time passed, and I could go to bed and get up and discard the seconds, minutes, and hours as if they weren’t important.  Now I know better.  Now, every second, every minute, and every hour counts.

I am determined.  I am working.  I am moving forward.  And somewhere down the line, I will reap the rewards.  I want to sow seeds of awareness and love.  I am aware, and at the very core of my being is LOVE.  Love got me here to this point, and love is what will carry me through the rest of my life.  More than anything, I want to make a difference in childhood cancer.  More than anything, I want to bring it to everyone’s attention.  It will be larger than life – it already is, but people are turning their backs.  They’re not seeing it for what it is.  It’s a monster that attacks the most innocent of victims.  And it needs to be stopped.

Writing has always given my life purpose – I just haven’t always known it.  I knew it was a gift, sure.  I knew it freed me.  But what I didn’t know is how huge a gift it was and how much bigger it would be once I figured out how to really use it.  I didn’t know, and there was no way I could have known until I was ready to – I am as guilty of blindness as the next person.  I see the pain and suffering of this world – not just mine anymore.  And I think that by helping others, I will be helping myself too, fulfilling my purpose on this earth.  When I die, I want to know I did everything I could to leave this world a better place than I received it.

 

 

 

I'd love to know what you think!

