Comfort food

When I was recovering from back surgery in ’10, I would have spent the whole summer cooped up in the house if it wasn’t for my aunt Lisa.  She lives in Leavenworth and back then, she invited us to bbqs on an almost weekly basis.  And sometimes, she came to us.  I remember one time she came over with my cousin Taylor and she brought bread bowls and soup, as well as a movie to watch.  I don’t remember what the movie was, but I loved the bread bowl soup idea.  Aunt Lisa said it was Taylor’s favorite meal.  It didn’t surprise me.  I haven’t had bread bowls since that day, but perhaps the next time I go to the store, I’ll get the things needed to make it.  It is the ultimate comfort food.  I am not much of a bread fan, but this made me think twice about it.

My mom makes two really good soups during the winter months – minestrone and taco soup, and I think these would go well with bread bowls.  Chili would be awesome too.  No need for corn bread when you have bread bowls, right?  Usually, meals are prepared on weekends and then just heated up when they are needed.  After long days at work, the last thing my parents want to do is come home and slave away over a hot stove.  There’s a bakery just across the highway from us, though.  Why bake round bread loaves when we don’t have to?  It’s a lot of work, and if it were up to me, every single meal would be this easy to make.  Just cut the top off, scoop out the insides you would a pumpkin, and fill to the brim with the soup of your choice.  Heat it up in the microwave and enjoy!

It snowed here New Year’s Eve, but it quickly melted.  I think this has been the warmest winter ever here in Washington.  The temperature is in the upper 30’s.  I, of course, love it because I am not the biggest snow fan ever.  I’m still going to get the mail these days, which I wouldn’t be doing if there was snow out there.

What is your favorite comfort food?

 

5 thoughts on “Comfort food

  1. My favorite comfort food might be Taco soup if you’d share the recipe! LOL I love me some comfort foods. I have a few blogs that I update, and one of them is BBQ/Grilling related. But my comforts change depending on the weather. In the Winter, I like heavy soups, stews and roasts. In the Spring/Summer, I much prefer grilled and bbq’ed foods. I’m fickle like that.

    • Okay, I’ll see if I can find the recipe. I am fickle like that too – I thought I was the only one! In winter, I refuse to eat ice cream. Of course, there is nothing wrong with going with the old standby – tomato soup and grilled cheese. 🙂

  2. I love Taco Soup. In fact my Taco Soup and Chili have almost melded into one recipe because I sometimes add corn to my chili now after having the taco soup. (I make bean/meat chili…not beanless) Great picture too….the bread bowls look like you can just reach in and taste them!

  3. I have also had bread used like that and filled with a spinach dip, a friend of mine did it for us this Christmas in a big cob loaf….everyone went nuts over it, even the kids….hmm maybe this is a way to get some other different food introduced in an interesting way

I'd love to know what you think!

