Focusing on the Positive

So, the American Cancer Society took down the blog post I wrote my last post in response to, and Andrew Becker wrote an “apology” of sorts.  The fact that this new post is called Bald Barbie Demand is an Over-Reach – UPDATED makes me think perhaps our Mr. Becker has learned nothing.  Most likely, ACS demanded he write an apology.  It wasn’t much of one, and he shows more concern over damaged relationships with advocates than he does about childhood cancer.  Indeed, he does say “But losing a child to cancer (or for any other reason) is unimaginable to me. The idea of having one of my children diagnosed with cancer is a pain I cannot comprehend. ”  That is right, mister.  You cannot comprehend it, not fully, until you lived it, or survived it.  That is one thing you’ve said since I found out you exist that I completely agree with.

Today, I came across an outrageous youtube video – I’m so mad that I cannot think of a stronger word than “outrageous” (and I don’t mean that in a good way).  The video itself was done in response the Bald Barbie Movement, and this woman was sitting in front of her computer and mocking the whole concept.  I couldn’t even watch the whole thing.  I had to turn it off after she condescendingly said, “Look, Mommy!  Barbie’s dying just like me.”  WHAT?  Whaaaat?  Is this chick for real?

I refuse to post it on my facebook page, and I refuse to post it here.  In fact, I flagged it for review and marked it “abuse of vulnerable individuals.”  I had so wanted to mark it as “child abuse” but as that ignorant lady was the only one in that video (other than her poor dog), I couldn’t justify that to myself.  I can only hope that this person never has kids or loved ones with cancer and that she never is diagnosed with cancer herself.  I’d never wish cancer on people, no matter how despicable they act.

*Deep breaths.  I need to stop worrying about what other people think and concentrate on what I need to do – focus on the positive.  Yesterday, I found out that tomorrow’s “Grey’s Anatomy” is going to feature a neuroblastoma case!  I am excited to see it.  What’s amazing about this is that they seemingly got there all by themselves – nobody talked them into it.  It’s one of my favorite shows, and having a childhood cancer story on there (think of the awareness it could bring!) makes my day!

2 thoughts on “Focusing on the Positive

  1. Your posts are very clear explaining Childhood Cancer, not giving up, changing the way I think and touch my heart! Thank You for Your Posts… Your a miracle and an Amazing Role Model! I really like your Mom’s new vaccum it is really cute! I am asking Santa for one next Christmas =) I have a learning disablity and my puncuation and words are crazy. I am going to go now to watch Grays Anatomy..
    Thank You for Sharing and Making a Difference!

I'd love to know what you think!

