Books, Books, and More Books

I am in the middle of quite a few books right now – “Turtle Moon” by Alice Hoffman, “Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert, “Whedonistas: A Celebration of the Worlds of Joss Whedon by the Women Who Love them” (collection of essays), and “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Loving our Dogs ” by Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen, edited by Amy Newmark.

I have to admit…  I am only reading “Turtle Moon” because Jodi Picoult lists it among her favorite books.  It’s interesting enough.  Only 9 chapters, though they are long chapters, more than a few pages.  I’m somewhat embarrassed to admit that it is the first Hoffman book I’ve ever picked up.  Don’t worry.  There’s more on my library reading list.  “Turtle Moon” is kinda odd – Hoffman waited 87 pages before introducing a supernatural character – one whom she calls “The Angel” or “Bobby.  Bobby’s been dead for about 20 years (a casualty of a car crash)  and he haunts a tree.  The fact that Hoffman calls Bobby “The Angel” instead of “The Ghost” is confusing at this point.  He haunts, so therefore, he is a ghost, right?  I’m only on chapter four, so I don’t really have anything else to say about this, except that the boy on the run with the baby is interesting.  Haha…  sparked your interest, didn’t I?

I think I am setting a new record for the amount of time it takes me to read a book with “Eat Pray Love.”  And by record, I don’t mean, the fastest read ever – I mean the slowest.  I picked it up at the beginning of last month (yes, I carried it over from 2011), and have been reading it off and on since.  It doesn’t really hold my attention for too long, sadly.  I mostly use it to fall asleep at night.  Good thing it is not a library book, or else my inbox would be full of overdue notices.  I borrowed it from a friend.  I do like one thing about the book though…  every now and then, there are hidden gems:

 “To find the balance you want,” Ketut spoke through his translator, “this is what you must become [referring to an [a sketch of a] “androgynous human figure, standing up, hands clasped in prayer.  But this figure had four legs, and no head.  Where the head should have been, there was only a wild foliage of ferns and flowers.  There was a small, smiling face drawn over the heart”].  You must keep your feet grounded so firmly on the earth that is’s like you have four legs instead of two.  That way, you can stay in the world.  But you must stop looking at the world through your head.  You must look through your heart, instead.  That way, you will know God. (page 27)

And so I keep plugging along at this book, though I have lost my place in it dozens of times and sometimes it is weeks before I think to pick it up again.

The third book, the one with essays on the worlds of Joss Whedon, is one I am really enjoying.  Joss Whedon is the creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, and Dollhouse.  This book is proof that I am not insane – that I’m not the only one who loves the Buffyverse or even the Whedonverse.  I knew it before, because Joss keeps coming out with new ideas, new shows.  None of them have had the success that Buffy and Angel had.  And maybe there’s a reason for that, but for the life of me, I do not understand it.  Firefly and Dollhouse were good.  I watched them faithfully.  Maybe not on the same level as the first two shows, but man, people should have given them more of a chance.  Joss has been doing movies too – he got Serenity out of Firefly.  He did BTVS season 8 motion comic (yes, the show lives on and on and on…  The Buffyverse is still very much alive) and he produced the upcoming Avengers movie.  JOSS WHEDON FOREVER!

My dog Buffy inspired me to start reading “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Loving our Dogs” yesterday, when I received it from the mail order library.  I read the first story in it – about the dog who met his master’s train every day faithfully, and when the master got a new job and moved across the country and left the dog behind, the dog still went and met the train every single day.  He got sadder and sadder and more despondent as the days and weeks and months went by and his master didn’t come home.  Finally, a worried friend contacted the guy, and he immediately flew back and waited a few hours for the train he usually took.  The dog was waiting for him, and oh!  I can just imagine the reunion.  I was bawling like a baby by the time I finished that story.

2 thoughts on “Books, Books, and More Books

I'd love to know what you think!

