Gratitude (Carpe Diem)

Time seems to crawl sometimes.  Years can be packed into weeks, and even days.  And other times, it seems to go too fast.  January has been like that for me.  It seems ages since New Year’s, when in truth it has only been 27 days.  Really?  According to my internal clock, it should be July (partly because I am so very excited about being in my BFF’s wedding, going to San Diego, etc.  In reality, though, I am glad it’s not July because there is still so much to do).

What am I grateful for this week?  Today is actually a very sunny, beautiful winter day here in C-town.  We have company coming over tonight.  My cousin Connor (he is a senior!  In high school!) is playing basketball against our home team.  My aunt and the rest of her family are coming.  My grandfather is also coming and staying all weekend.  I’m excited.

I am grateful for time.  I know it is kinda funny.  Time isn’t guaranteed to any of us, but that is what makes it so precious.  Buffy Summers says in the very first episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, “Seize the moment ’cause tomorrow you might be dead.”  Of course, in Sunnydale, the truth of those words is profound – even outside of the make-believe town.  (Of course, I like it even better when Willow later tells Buffy, “Carpe diem.  You said that to me once” and Buffy gets a confused look on her face and asks, “Fish of the day?”  Willow smiles and says, “Not carp.  Carpe.  Seize the day”).  It’s so easy to take everything for granted, but if we really stop and think about how lucky we are to have the things we do, I think the world would be a much better place.

Robert Brault, an American operatic tenor, once said it like this: “Life is short – God’s way of encouraging a bit of focus.”  If we had all the time in the world to get stuff done, nothing would get done.  Deadlines are there for a reason.  Maybe that is why I joined the Ultimate Blog Challenge on Facebook in the first place.  Before I started this blog, my writing life was suffering big time.  I wasn’t writing every day.  I wasn’t honing my craft.  And for someone who wants to be a published author so badly, it wasn’t good.  So I’m taking the leap.  I may not know what’s going to happen tomorrow, but I don’t have to.  The future may be predestined in ways I don’t fully understand, but it’s up to me to live up to my potential.

I'd love to know what you think!

