Something New and Delicious

I was feeling a bit restless today and wanted to try something new, so I looked on pinterest for ideas.  I have been up since around 3:30 (to be fair, I went to sleep fairly early last night), so my body was saying, I don’t want to do anything, but I know I have to do something.  Nobody ever does nothing.  At the very least, they breathe, and that is something, isn’t it?

I found something to do – or rather, something to make: No-bake energy bites.  Sounded interesting, and when I went out to the kitchen to see if we had all the ingredients, I was delighted to find that we did.  I am not really a fan of no-bake cookies (probably because I once had too many of them in one sitting – that is how I get turned off by many foods), and the energy bites are similar, so I was kinda cautious at first.  But I did end up making them.  Every now and then, you have to try something new in order to get away from the old, right?

No-Bake Energy Bites

(makes 18-20 bites)

1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup peanut butter (or some other nut butter like almond butter), 1/3 cup honey, 1 cup coconut flakes, 1/2 cup chocolate chips (actually the recipe calls for mini chocolate chips, but we didn’t have any so I used regular), and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Mix all ingredients in medium bowl until thoroughly blended together.  Put bowl in refrigerator for a half hour.  Once chilled, roll into individual balls (yeah, right…  I shaped them with my fingers, which is why they look so uneven in the above picture).  Store in airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to one week.

I ended up with 33 bites, and they won’t last a week in this house.  Maybe they would if I was the only one eating them, but I’ll be nice and share with my parents.  After all, they bought the ingredients.

I'd love to know what you think!

