Hope is closer than you (and I) think

First, I’d like to say that, yes, I know that image above is kinda freaky.  I mean, I have read too many ghost stories and seen too many ghost movies for my mind not to go there.  So, in disregarding that, the image does make a point.  Hope is always within reach, if you look for it.  And trust me, I am looking for it.

Hope.  What does it mean?  It’s the feeling that something is possible when you want it badly enough.  It’s the feeling of confidence that things will turn out for the best.  It’s a particular feeling that makes you look forward to something (the hope of something better to come).  Hope is the ground on which we stand.  Hope for a better tomorrow when today was awful.  Hope for someone sick to get better.  Hope can also be a person or a thing (example:  That doctor was her last hope).  Hope is the foundation in which we build our lives on.  Hope is what keeps us going.  Without hope, we would get nowhere.  We would all be moping fools.

One of the reasons why I haven’t been posting regularly is that I am trying to work something out in my head, and I know that if I write about it on here, I will lose interest in it.  And I can’t do that.  Not this time.  It’s too important.  It’s like a bird with a broken wing.  I can’t let it go until it is ready.  I have dropped bits and pieces here and there, mainly because I know I cannot do this alone.  I need other people to keep me grounded – so I don’t go crazy and give up before I even begin.  I’m always coming up with new things – what-ifs, maybes, and how-abouts.  Some of them will work, but a lot of them won’t.  And that is okay.  It’s a process, and it’ll take time, but I’ll get to where I am going.  I have no doubt about that.

Hope keeps me going – the hope of a better world, with no diseases, no wars, nothing bad.  Yes, I am a dreamer, but I do know that such a world exists – a world we cannot see with our human eyes.  It’s called Heaven, and it’s safe there.  Heaven is the safest place ever, but the only thing is, you have to die to this world in order to go there.  And the people you leave behind – they don’t know where you are.  They don’t know if you are safe.  That is where hope walks hand in hand with faith…  In order to believe in anything, you have to be open to it, right?  This makes me think of the quote in LeAnn Rimes’ book/movie, Holiday in Your Heart:  “We are so far from God, who do you think moved?”

Here’s a clue:  It’s not God.

One thought on “Hope is closer than you (and I) think

  1. The theme of my life has been HOPE. It only comes from one place. It comes from the other invisible side of life and the BIG GUY, God. I hope you work out whatever it is that’s been eating at you to write. I love your insightful last paragraph! AND YES! Everything is a process…..keep at it. I have confidence that you have confidence that everything will turn out for the best!!! God speed.

I'd love to know what you think!

