Wild At Heart

Some things – okay, most things – are easier said than done.  I think we all want to be more than what we actually are, and we tend to get depressed when we fail.  We know we’re only human, but we still want to be more, to give more, to feel more.  We hold it against ourselves – it sounds funny, but it is true.  In this world, we are going to get disappointed, and we are going to get our hearts broken.  And if we try to hold our breaths and tread lightly, then we are not really living.

The solution to this, I think, is to be wild at heart.  For example, I can’t really go anywhere by myself.  I don’t really have a lot of physical stamina.  I am a dreamer, yes, in order to make my dreams come true, I have to go at it one step at a time.  When I don’t do that, I tend to get overwhelmed and I give up.   I am a fighter – I’ve been one my whole life.  I accept my limitations but I am not giving up – I know I have not even begun to touch on my potential.  Yes, I am limited, but God isn’t.  And with God, all things are possible.

I treasure my dreams because it is only through their promise that I will begin to live the life that I am meant to have.  When I learned to read, it opened up a whole new world for me, and I felt something click inside.  Yes, I was on the right track.  It is amazing to me that I was able to recognize it for what it was back then, and that I knew, even at 7 years old, what I was meant to do with my life.  Or I knew half of it.  The rest didn’t come until much, much, much later, when I was finally able to see past my own pain to that of others.

It took me a long, long, long time to be content with what I have.  Seriously.  It was one step forward and half a dozen steps back for a while.  But now, I know what I am here for.  For the rest of my life, I’ll let God guide me.  He won’t steer me wrong.

I'd love to know what you think!

