There’s Nothing Broken

I have potential.  So do you.  It is up to us whether or not we use it – either way, our potential affects our future.  What happened in any of your yesterdays does not lessen your potential.  How people treat you may affect your self-esteem but none of it will take away your potential.  And what they say about you to your face or behind your back doesn’t affect it either.  We may think it does, but really, that’s us belittling ourselves.  We do not have to tell ourselves that we can’t do something.  We’ll never know unless we try, right?

Our potential is cemented in us.  Society can feed us lies that we aren’t good enough or not strong enough, but that is all they are:  lies.  Who we are and we become has been predetermined by God.  And to tell you the truth, I would not have the strength or the courage to get up to face another day if I had to do everything on my own strength.  I would get absolutely nothing accomplished.  But because I know there are better things to come, better tomorrows, I go on.  I live and laugh and cry, and then I go to bed only to get up and do it over again.  And it’s never exactly the same.  Each day brings its own surprises – a sweet memory out of nowhere, an email from a dear friend, or an unprovoked encouraging comment from a perfect stranger.

I am capable of being so much more than I am now.  I hold this truth before me like a badge of honor.  I am creative.  I am talented.  I am valuable.  The future is so bright.  My best days are ahead.  I have to keep telling myself these things in order to begin to believe them.  If I don’t, if I let the day pass me by without so much as a single positive affirmation, then the day is wasted.  In the past, I didn’t really have the confidence and the self-esteem that I should have had because I was too busy dwelling on negative things about myself.  I can’t do this.  It’s too hard.  It’s impossible.  But slowly, I started to realize that there is no such thing as an impossibility.  One of my most favorite quotes ever is the one by Audrey Hepburn that goes, “There’s no such thing as impossible.  The word itself says ‘I’m possible.'”  The Bible even says it in Matthew 19:26 – “With God, all things are possible.”

In the Garden of Eden, after Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit, they were ashamed and so they hid.  God called out to them, “Adam!  Eve!  Where are you?”  Adam answered for the both of them:  “God, we are hiding because we’re naked.”  I love the way God answered them.  He said, “Adam, who told you you were naked?”  In other words, “Who told you that something was wrong with you?”  God immediately knew that the Enemy had been talking to them.

~  Joel Osteen

Who told you that there was something wrong with you?  Who told me that there was something wrong with me?  In God’s eyes, we are flawless, His perfect creations.  It is only by the world’s (Satan’s) view that we are not.  But what if there was no one telling us that we don’t have what it takes to succeed? What if there was no one telling us no?  Anything’s possible.  The world is yours if you’ll have it.

Me:  Well, I could write a novel, but I don’t think it will ever get published or even read.”

Who told me that?  God says, “No good thing will I withhold when you walk uprightly.”  (Psalm 84:11)  God also says, “When you delight yourself in me. I will give you the desires of your heart.”  (Psalm 37:4)

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13).  The potential is inside of me.  Romans 11:29 says, “God’s gifts and his callings are irrevocable.”  That means that God is never going to take my potential away from me.  He’ll never take yours either.  He is never going to get tired of us.  We can try and fail as many times as it takes for us to get it right, and he will never lose patience with us.  There’s no limits with God.

I don’t know about you, but I am going to tap into my potential and use it to the best of my ability.  I’m taking this leap and I’m not closing my eyes or holding my breath.  I trust I’ll land where I am supposed to be.


One thought on “There’s Nothing Broken

I'd love to know what you think!

