Jeremiah 29:11

It’s funny how certain verses of the Bible still ring true today, thousands of years after they first were written.  There are quite a few that I hold dear to my heart, and Jeremiah 29:11 is no exception:  “I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.  “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

In order for me to feel that truth, I had to let go of what I thought my life should be like, and just trust in God.  There was a time when I was scrambling around trying to make sense of things on my own, and it didn’t work out too well.  I ended up sinking in a quicksand of my own creation.  The more I struggled, the more I sank.

The quicksand was made up of all my disappointments and failures.  I wanted to become who I think I should be, regardless of God’s opinions.  After a time, I realized that it does not have to be like that.  I could be free.  My soul could fly if only I surrendered it to the light.  I may not be able to change the past, but I sure can make the most of the present.  That is why the right kind of attitude is so important.  Bitterness accomplishes nothing.

This is a new day.  My dreams may seem so far from coming true right now, but if I keep working, keep believing, they will come to fruition.  God has not and will never give up on me or you.  He planted his seed in us when we were born, and nothing can ever destroy what grows from that seed, unless we let it.  Each of us has something to offer the world – if we didn’t, then we wouldn’t be here.  And trust me on this – God has more in store for us in the future than what we lost in the past.  I am excited to see what that is for me and for the people around me.

Take heart – no matter how badly life has treated you, God is still there, caring for you.  We need to do our part as well, though.  See the good things on the horizon?  Start making your way toward them.  Baby steps.  God has already done so much for us – who are we to deny Him the pleasure of seeing us flourishing in this world He made especially for us?  He has prepared us, and He has paved the way.  All we have to do is follow His lead, and rise up to become everything He has created us to be.

 

I'd love to know what you think!

