Don’t Worry, Be Happy

When Kevin Carlberg was diagnosed with brain cancer he donned his “Don’t Worry Be Happy” shirt and wore it everywhere. He explained his life’s philosophy, “I’m happy and I want to make other people feel happy too, and know that you can survive this.”  Embodying this simple mantra, he miraculously thrived, six years longer than ever expected. He inspired dozens of news stories, and helped raise millions of dollars for cancer research. This powerful message asks you to realize that “worry” over a future that may never come causes disease. Embrace the present, and choose wellness by being happy … Be the spark of hope and light that creates a miracle as it did for Kevin.  

~ from the DWBH site

Last night, I stumbled across a really cool website.  The site sells “Don’t Worry Be Happy” shirts and other merchandise to help raise money for families who are struggling to pay medical bills.  Penelope “Penny” Buttress is one such child who benefits from this.  I’ve heard of her before – she has been battling neuroblastoma since she was eleven months old, had 2 clear scans three months apart, and just relapsed on February 23 of this year.  Obviously, there is more to her story than that, and if you want to learn more about her, click on her name above and that will take you to the blog her mother keeps.

I invite you all to show your support to Penny and the other patients on the warrior page by buying “Don’t Worry Be Happy” merchandise, and help spread the message of “hope, happiness and love” that Kevin Carlberg demonstrated through his life.  Let this message mesh with that of 12-year old Jessica Joy Rees (NEGU – Never Ever Give Up) and inspire you today.

I just love inspiring people, and I strive to be inspiring myself.  It is too easy to look at your life and think you can’t do this, but you can.  Reach out and know that you’re not alone.  This world is often cold and harsh, but that doesn’t mean we need to be as well.  If you are worried about something, take positive action against it.  Often, we look too far ahead in our lives, and that  scares us into freezing up and locking the world out.  What does that do but make us more withdrawn than we already were?  I do get overwhelmed sometimes – who doesn’t?  But then I think of all the people out there who have it worse than me, and I feel blessed because I can offer them a piece of my heart.  It’s a matter of perspective, like the famous quote by Plato says:  “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.”

3 thoughts on “Don’t Worry, Be Happy

  1. Yikes! Worrying! I have my moments but don’t feel like I’m a big worrier, overall. My mom, on the other hand, LIVES to worry. Once A,B & C are resolved she moves on to D, E & F…. Wish I could figure out how to cure that for her ‘cus it takes a lot of joy out of life. I say go with the glass half full. Legit concerns like cancer are worth of worry of course, but a positive attitude is SOOO important.

  2. Pingback: So, Don’t Worry, Be Happy & the World will be Happpy Too! « There Really IS More to Life

I'd love to know what you think!

