A Cheerful Heart is Good Medicine – Psalm 17:22

My last couple posts have been very depressing (full of a harsh reality that most of us would like to ignore but can’t), so I thought I would take a page out of Pollyanna’s book and play the Glad Game.

1.  I am grateful for solitude.  Within solitude is peace, and within peace, God is waiting.  He’s waiting for us to figure it out, to figure him out.  He’s more simple than you think.  It is us that makes him seem complicated.  You know I’m right.

2.  I am grateful for Facebook, for it allows me to connect with people I might not have a chance to talk to otherwise.  For every child that is fighting cancer, there are more people standing up and fighting with and for that child and for all children fighting cancer.  And I am grateful that most of them vow to continue fighting, no matter what the outcome for their child.  Standing with these people means so much to me.  I know we have a common goal – to increase awareness and hopefully increase government funding for awareness (and not by just a little, but by a lot).

3.  I am grateful for spring.  I look forward to spring all winter:  there is no horrible snow on the ground, the temperature is just right to go outside without a jacket (except when it rains).  I am grateful for the flowers that bloom and the birds that sing.  I am grateful for the warmth of the sun on my skin (though not so much for the restless wind).  I am grateful for laughter – every day before I go get the mail, I put my dog Buffy outside, and when I start to head back to the house, she gets so excited – almost as if I’ve been gone for years – that she ends up dancing, chasing her tail.  It is such a funny sight, and I can’t help but laugh at her – or with her. I am grateful for her bright eyes, her button nose, her Ewokness, and the way she snuggles up to me at night, even though I complain about it sometimes (I must secretly love it).

I am adding a fourth and fifth thing because I know I’ve fallen away from doing a weekly gratitude list, and I want to get back to it.  So here they are:

4.  I am grateful for the weekends, for that is when we get Little Miss (my niece).  It is quiet around the house during the week without her here.  Last weekend, totally unprompted, she yelled, “Danielle, I love you to the moon and back!”  It made me smile, and of course I said it back.  I do not think she even knows how far away the moon is and how long it would take to get back, but someday she will.

5.  I am grateful for friends that make me smile and laugh.  For hugs and loving texts and friends who not only want me at their wedding, but also want me to be a part of it.  I am so blessed to have you for friends, Tammy and Valerie.  Neither of you will ever know just how much you’ve enriched my life.  Standing up for you while you marry the men you love is the least I can do for you guys.  XOXO

One thought on “A Cheerful Heart is Good Medicine – Psalm 17:22

  1. Pingback: Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That! « My Magnificent Mess

I'd love to know what you think!

