Letter to SMG

Dear Sarah,

I know your birthday was last Saturday, so happy belated birthday.  I hope you have another fantastic year ahead of you.  I am praying that Ringer will have a second season – we find out in May.  I still have the season 1 finale on my DVR, unwatched.  I am thinking I should wait to watch it after I know whether or not the show is going to be renewed.  The show is awesome, by the way.  I love it so much.  Last summer, when I found out about it, I was grinning from ear to ear – TWO SARAHS!  Can it get any better than that?  It did – because one of you is evil (Siobhan, Bridget wasn’t even driving when your son was killed…  your ex-husband/ex-boyfriend was) and the other one is redemptive and very root-able.  I love Bridget.  I think Siobhan is nuts.  You do it all so well.

Whenever I see a picture of you with your little Charlotte, I can’t help smiling.  She is gorgeous, just like you.  I imagine you are a wonderful mother to her – how could you not be?  You’re simply amazing.  I was young (you’re only 4 years older than me) when you started your work on All My Children but I followed some of your storyline on it.  My grandmother watched it, and for a time, in the summer, my parents did too (or else it seemed like they did because it was always on).  I thought, that girl (you) is awesome.  Little did I know that later, you would get the part of Buffy Summers in the show Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  Words often fail me when I try to explain just how much that show meant to me.  I understand what Buffy went through in high school – the ostracism by her peers, the loneliness, the feeling that the weight of the world was on her shoulders, all of it.  I think part of the reason why I love it so much is because you put your whole heart, mind and soul into being Buffy, as you do with all the characters you play.  It’s so obvious.  And the other reason why I love Buffy is because I got to see someone (female) being strong even though everything and everyone was out to get her.  I cannot even begin to tell you how many times she has helped me put on my own “resolve face” in order to do what I need to do.  Thank you for being Buffy.  Without that show, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Buffy Summers once said, “The hardest thing to do in this world is to live in it.”  I know from personal experience that is very true.  I am a childhood cancer survivor – neuroblastoma – and a survivor of what came afterwards (brain stem damage that led to physical disabilities, hearing loss, a speech impediment.  And also scoliosis from the radiation).  I think Buffy the Vampire Slayer means more to me because of it.  I have a little black and white shih tzu named Buffy.  And if I ever get another dog, I’m planning on calling her (because it has to be a girl, right?) Bridget.    I’m an aspiring novelist, and who knows?  Maybe someday our paths will cross and I’ll be able to give you a hug like I’ve wanted to do for so long now.

XOXO

2 thoughts on “Letter to SMG

  1. I’m also a great fan of Ringer. Here in the UK it’s still running and I’m amazed at all the twists and turns in the story. Every episode reveals something you didn’t expect. I don’t know how long they can keep this level of suspense up and keep doing it well but a 2nd season would be great.

I'd love to know what you think!

