I’ve got the pre-writing blues

It is no secret that writing is hard work, especially when you want to be published.  It is the pre-writing that is particularly hard for me, since I just want to write  the story that is in me.  I think God is a good example to use, since he never does anything without thinking it out thoroughly.  If he just winged it all the time, then we would be in so much trouble.  He always has plans.  He always has reasons.  Because of that, I know I need to have them for my characters as well.  I need to have the story figured out from start to finish before I start bringing it to life.  It’s easier said than done, but I am determined.  Resolve face.  I am gonna do this.

So, I am going to take a week…  It may not be this week, because I got some other stuff to work on, but the week after looks great.  Pre-writing is just organizing my ideas, right?  And I can do that, no problem.  I never really liked to make outlines in school, because back then, it seemed to me a waste of time.  I thought my energy would be better off directed at the actual writing part than planning.  I was wrong.  Planning is important.  It saves time and frustration, even though the planning itself may be frustrating.  In the end, though, it will be worth it, when I finally have a whole draft of a novel.

I am passionate about the story in me.  It won’t be my own story – not yet, anyway.  I don’t think I am ready to write about that in fiction anyway.  The fun part about being a fiction writer is that I get to ask “What if” questions.  What if this happens and what if that happens?  We get to play around with the story, fitting the pieces together like a jigsaw puzzle.  Some pieces won’t fit and will have to be discarded, and that is okay.  As long as I’m writing, and trying, really trying, I know I will get to where I am going.

2 thoughts on “I’ve got the pre-writing blues

  1. I also hated writing story outlines in school. More poor teachers would try to convince me of the value but I’d hear none of it.
    Funny how things change as we get older. I now write outlines for most of my posts. Why? We all have so many other demands on our time, writing an outline means I can leave the post, do other jobs and then come back to it, without losing track of what I was writing.
    Cheers, Caylie

    • Yeah, LOL. And outlines for research papers were the worst ever. I was so impatient when I was a child that I didn’t want anything to slow me down, and loathed everything that did. 🙂

I'd love to know what you think!

