30 Day Letter Challenge: Day 1 – My Best Friend

Dear TJ,

I know you like to say you “stalked” me in high school, but I don’t think it is stalking if I liked it.  I know our friendship has had its ups and downs throughout the years, but honestly, what friendship hasn’t?  I am beyond grateful for your love and care over the years, and I’m so excited to be standing up for you when you get married in July.  You’ll be such a beautiful bride! I remember last summer when you were in town and you brought over  your beautiful wedding dress to try on for me.  That was when you handed me the manila envelope with the photo collage of us inside asking me to be one of your bridesmaids.  I couldn’t speak for a few minutes, but I nodded yes.  You know I’d do anything for you!

Our friendship took me by surprise, though it was a pleasant one.  I don’t know what I was expecting – to go through high school keeping my head down, never becoming close to anyone my age?  To have missed out on sleepovers, beading and watching scary movies half hiding behind you?  To have not laughed as hard as I do when I’m with you?  I will never forget that you let me read your private journal in high school so I could understand you, understand your story.  That meant so much to me.  We are stronger together than apart.  Distance means nothing today.  I know all I have to do is ask and you will welcome me with open arms.

You never make me feel less than I am.  It is this I am the most grateful for.  And no matter what the problem is, you always know just what to do, somehow.  You don’t try to keep me in a box, but instead you try your best to give me the wings I need to fly.  I think you understand me more than I understand myself sometimes, and that makes me happy.  Unbelievably and undeniably happy.

I will be here for you always.  You know that.

Love, DC

3 thoughts on “30 Day Letter Challenge: Day 1 – My Best Friend

  1. OMG thats so lovely,if i got a letter like that from a fdriend i would be beyond happy..You never make me less than i am tahts just wonderful.Made me cry you are such a lovely writer,

  2. Dani- I am forever blessed to have a friend like u. Thanks for those incredible beautiful words and for our amazing friendship. It means so much to me that u r a bridesmaid in my wedding. Thanks for being such a loyal friend. Tj

I'd love to know what you think!

