30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 3 – MY PARENTS

Dear Mom and Dad,

Since the very beginning of my life, you guys have been my two biggest cheerleaders.  I know you remember the things that I don’t – how it felt to be told that I had cancer, and to watch me constantly struggle with life from that moment on.  Thank you for loving me through it all.  I know God had different plans for me than you and I would have had, and we had to learn to go with the flow instead of fighting it.  Those were difficult lessons, but good lessons nevertheless.  I think it has turned out to be quite the ride, don’t you think?

Thank you for always being honest about how I’ve come to be this way.  I understand a lot more of what you guys went through back when I was sick, due to following kids with cancer on Facebook and reading what their parents write.  You never gave up on me.  You never said I couldn’t do something I wanted to do if there was a chance that I could do it.  You treated me no differently than you treated Ryan, Patrick, and Jacqueline, and for that, I’ll always be grateful.  It set the standard for me.

When I wanted to go away to university after I got my A.A. degree, you let me go.  I knew, of course, that you were about an hour away.  And after college, when the back pain started up, you guys were right there with me, wanting to get it fixed.  Of course, I was my usual stubborn self and it took me a while to admit that it wasn’t going away by itself.

And, oh…  Thank you for letting me get a dog.  I know it was trial and error for a while there – I’ve never really taken care of anybody else other than myself – it’s amazing to me Buffy is still ALIVE after almost four years in my care – ha!  She helps me see the lighter side to life – every time I look at her, I have to either smile or laugh.

And last but not least, thank you for undertaking the ginormous project of expanding the back of the house and building me a bedroom on the main floor with my own bathroom/walk-in shower/closet.  I know that was a lot of work, more than a lot (and also stress).  I just want you to know that I appreciate it!

I love you both to the moon and back!

XOXO

 

2 thoughts on “30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 3 – MY PARENTS

I'd love to know what you think!

