30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 8 – MY FAVORITE INTERNET FRIEND

Dear CM,

The very first thing I do when I log in to Facebook every day is to look to see if you’re on too.  I always say hi when you are.  We’ve known each other through cyberspace since December 2009 – it’s kinda funny, really, since we’re part of the same extended family…  my dad and your mom are cousins.  I am unsure what that makes us, even though I know we have tried to figure it out once.  I forget how we became friends in the first place, but I know that my grandmother might have had something to do with it.  Since we both have a common goal in life (to be published writers), it is really no surprise that we hit it off.  I am very glad of this, since I think Facebook would be very dull without your interesting and funny posts to look forward to every day.

You were working on your MFA in creative writing when we became friends.  I’ve thought about doing this myself, but since my own four years of undergraduate studies were long over and I was constantly struggling with back pain, I just couldn’t take the leap.  I loved reading your thesis – you’ve got talent, girl!  Promise me that you won’t stop writing, no matter what.  Even if it is just a poem here and there, write your little heart out.  Never ever give up on your dreams.  You and I – we’ll keep each other on track.

We are friends, I know, in every sense of the word.  We share personal stories, worries/stresses, opinions, and everything else we can think of.  There is a huge mutual trust between us – We can say anything to one another without worrying about being judged for it.  The judgment in our friendship is nonexistent, and that is awesome.  YOU are awesome.  I know I’ve told you that before, but I do not know if you really heard me.  YOU are awesome.  It’s only a matter of time before the world knows it too.

I believe in you.  BElieve in YOUrself.

Love,

DC

 

 

 

 

I'd love to know what you think!

