30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 15 – SOMEONE I MISS THE MOST

Dear Mersie,

I hear your joyful laugh sometimes, in my head, out of the blue.  It always makes me smile.  It is how I know you are still with me.  I am sorry you had to go the way you did.  You did not deserve that.  But you’re home now, where you belong.  Is it everything you imagined it would be?  I hope it is – all that and more.  I wonder how long it’s been for you – I wish you could tell me.  It’s been almost three years for us, but longer, if you consider that your disease took you from us long before you left physically.  I started missing you more than words can say a long, long time ago, and I will for the rest of my life.

I wish I wrote to you more while you were still here – while you could write back.  I want to thank you  for being one of my biggest cheerleaders.  I have no idea who I would be – or if I would even be here today – if I didn’t have such amazing people such as you in my life.  You fought for me even before I learned to fight for myself.  You always could make me laugh, no matter how awful I felt or what I was going through at the moment.  I loved going to your house.  It was never quiet there – what with the parrot, the animals, and all the rest of the grandchildren.  I know you loved every minute of it.  I did too.  I wouldn’t trade those times for anything in the world.

I know you must be taking care of the children and the dogs in heaven – you never liked to sit still while you were here, and I imagine they keep you on your toes.  It makes me smile to think of you healthy and whole again.  When you woke up and got to be yourself again, after so long, the first thing you saw was the face of Jesus.  That makes me happy and sad at the same time – happy for you, sad for me.  But I know I’ll be seeing you.

I love you.

XOXO

Danielle

I'd love to know what you think!

