30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 16 – SOMEONE WHO ISN’T IN THE SAME STATE AS ME

Dear Val,

I talk to you so much on Facebook that it is almost like you’re just in the next room, not in an entirely different state.  I will never forget your kindness back in high school, when you invited me to sit with you at lunch the last few days of junior year.  Our friendship grew from there.  I am so, so, so grateful you stepped into my life when you did.  The last year of high school would have sucked if you hadn’t extended your hand to me.  You were there when I needed you the most.  Life is kinda funny like that, isn’t it?  It drops people into your orbit just when you’re about ready to go back into your shell like a turtle.

I think that C.S. Lewis quote at the top of this post defines our friendship.  We’re both very creative, we both love Buffy the Vampire Slayer, we both  love junk food (okay, mostly Cheetos, Oreos, and Mountain Dew Voltage), we both like to ponder the deeper meaning of life.  We can talk for hours on end about nothing and everything.  And the next time we talk, we pick right up where we left off.  I’ll never forget that you went to that LeAnn Rimes concert with me (AND got to meet and greet her with me).  We had so much fun that night, didn’t we?  That was before you picked up and moved to Arizona for good.

And then you met Chris, and I was happy for you, because you were, and still are happy.  I am honored that you asked me to be one of your bridesmaids in your wedding, and it doesn’t surprise me in the least that you are going to tie the knot at the Phoenix Zoo.  I expect no less from you.  I am very excited for the big date!

Thank you for being such a good friend, and for putting up with my sometimes-extreme-craziness throughout the years!

HUGS!

D

I'd love to know what you think!

