30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 19 – SOMEONE WHO PESTERS MY MIND (GOOD OR BAD)

Dear Ms. Griffin,

Wow, what can I say about your book?  I loved it.  For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been fascinated by ghost stories (and later, at night, I would start obsessing about them and end up scared out of my mind), and the thing I love the most about “Tighter” is that by the end of the story, you don’t really know if it is, in fact, a ghost story by the end.  I don’t want to give too much away, because I want other people to read it, but this is easily one of the best books I have read so far this year.  Even after finishing it yesterday, I am still thinking about it, which is, as you may well know, a very, very good thing.

I have never read “The Turn of the Screw” by Henry James (shame on me, having an English degree and all), and I think I’m going to have to now.  You’ve piqued my curiosity.   I loved how you used supernatural elements in your book, and Jamie (the main character) treated it like it was old hat – which it was to her.  The pills she steals were a good move on your part – it gave credibility to her craziness.  She is a person coming apart at the seams, and she kept me guessing; I am still not sure what actually happened and what was in Jamie’s head.  Take Milo, for example.  Was he real or invented?  I can’t make up my mind.

Because I loved this book so much, you can bet I will be looking for and reading your other books.  I am excited now.  Despite the fact that I am way past the age of your target audience (young adults), I think you are a brilliant writer.  Your work pesters my mind…  in a good way, of course.  Makes me think, makes me wonder.  All the best stories do.

Sincerely,

Danielle

P.S.  The book cover is extremely creepy.

I'd love to know what you think!

