30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 22 – SOMEONE I’D GIVE A SECOND CHANCE TO

Dear Soul,

I know you’re all about the writing.  I am not giving up on you. You’ve done a good job keeping up with this challenge, though I know you are counting the days until it is over and done with.  The good news is that there are only 8 more letters to write for it after this one.  I know you are itching to write fiction, and I’m really sorry, but I think this has been good for you, and our mind as well.  I’ll give you a second chance next Friday – but really, I’ll just give you all the chances you need.  Because I’m not giving up on you.  It is just not an option.

I think writing fiction exclusively about childhood cancer is a fantastic idea.  I know you have been nudging me there this whole time, my whole life, and I’m sorry it has taken me so long to “get it.”  I have a feeling that writing fiction means neglecting this blog somewhat, and maybe I just wasn’t ready to do that when I dove right into this challenge.  If I get published down the road, it kill a lot of birds with just one stone – it will raise awareness in society, it will get people talking about pediatric cancer, and it might get more funding for it and lead to cures.  I know I have big dreams, but I also know that they absolutely can come true.  I know for a fact that I am not the only one fighting.  I am just one in the army against this monster, and we will not give up.

So, yeah, I am going to give you a second chance.  I don’t have anything to lose, nowhere to go but up, and I know it will be quite a ride.  When (not if) we get to the top of this very long, very steep climb, it will be so worth it.  There ain’t no doubt about it.

Love,

Me

I'd love to know what you think!