30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 26 – THE LAST PERSON I MADE A PINKY PROMISE TO

Dear R,

A few weeks ago, you had a childhood cancer awareness video set for release on youtube, but you were worried about it being good enough for your viewers.  You asked me if I wanted to preview it, and I said yes.  You made me “pinky promise” that I wouldn’t show anybody else.  It didn’t matter that it was only a virtual pinky promise.  I gave my word and I stood by it.

I am so sorry you lost your beautiful son to this horrific disease.  It has almost been three months since he’s been gone, but I know you feel the loss of him just as fresh and as heavy on your heart as the day he stopped breathing.  Babies should not die in this day and age.  It’s so wrong and so unfair to you and to your wife and to your other children.  So unfair to your baby boy who hadn’t even begun living.  I don’t mean to make you cry with this letter, but I just want people to hear the truth about childhood cancer.

Yesterday, about 46 children were diagnosed with cancer.  Yesterday, about 7 more children died from it.  Today, 46 children are hearing the words “You have cancer.”  Today, 7 more children will die.  The same will happen tomorrow – 46 diagnosed, 7 dead.  We are fighting to get the word out.  Things will change.  They have to.  Your son will have a legacy – the legacy of a cure.  I promise you…  pinky promise.  We will make others see  what we see and they will stand with us.

Your son was insanely strong, and he got that from you being his daddy.  I wish I could say something magic here to lessen the pain of losing him, but the truth is that there are no magic words.  Just fight.  Keep going for your boy.  I know he is proud of you.  How could he not be, with all that you’re doing in his name, and all that you’re going to do?  NEGU, R, NEGU.

Hugs,

D

2 thoughts on “30 DAY LETTER CHALLENGE: DAY 26 – THE LAST PERSON I MADE A PINKY PROMISE TO

  1. It did make me cry but it was a Good Cry , At one time I never understood what a good cry was until I lost RJ, When you cry because you feel a weight being lifted from your Heart that’s a Good cry, Either way I cry when happy and when sad and both do help to feel better , Thank You Danielle for being there when I need you the most and I Promise Pinky Promise we will be there the day when children can be Free from the threat of Cancer , Thats a Promise !!!! xoxoxoxo Rodney

I'd love to know what you think!

