Today is the Someday I’ve Been Waiting For

I’d like to give a shout out to Maya Thompson, mama of Rockstar Ronan.  Yesterday, she ran in the San Diego Rock and Roll Marathon without training, and she finished in amazing time – 4 hours and 51 minutes!  Amazing what people can do when they put their minds to it, huh?  She has said, “If kids can fight cancer, then I can run a marathon without training for it.”  Kudos to you, Maya…  I am so proud of you, and I know Ronan is too.   I know you don’t like to hear it, but you ARE an inspiration.  Look at it this way…  Ronan is making you an inspiration.  You and Ronan are gonna take this world by storm.  I’m inspired to create my own statement – “If kids can fight cancer – If I could fight cancer and survive – then I can use my writing gift to help spread awareness.”

This world may be filled to the brim with things that are awful, like childhood cancer and people who lie and say that they are sick but they’re really not, but it doesn’t mean that we should give up.  It means, instead, that we should strengthen our resolve and fight back harder.  It’s the only way we’re going to come out on top.

Someday is today.  It has to be, because tomorrow may never come.  No one knows this better than someone who has lost a loved one.  Cancer is horrible and it deserves to be vanquished.  That is why I enjoy seeing F U Cancer everywhere on Facebook.  Nothing has ever been more deserving of being effed, ever.

If kids have to fight cancer in this day and age, then I’m throwing everything I’ve got at it – my whole mind, body, and soul at it.  I will write and publish novel after novel about it, until people begin to understand the devastation cancer brings and begin to stand up with me.

 

I'd love to know what you think!

