An Article about ACS and my own thoughts about it

I am sure many of you remember the blog post by one Andrew Becker in January on the American Cancer Society website.  It got the cancer families on Facebook and beyond in an uproar because it questioned if there was really a need for a bald barbie.  My blood still boils when I think of it, even now, because it proves one thing – children stricken with cancer do not have voices.  Children cannot vote, and therefore have no say in the way society works.  Imagine for a minute, if you will, a society ruled by children.  School would just be recess, or not even exist at all, and life would be utter pandemonium.

(This is not to say that adults are doing a stand-up job…  but I digress.)

But now look… we have got  True Hope Bratz Dolls, thanks to MGA who decided to step up while Mattel hemmed and hawed about it for the longest time.  I did not get that at all.  I still do not understand why something that could do so much good was not jumped upon the very second it was mentioned.  Really, people?  Is this the kind of world we’ve become?  If so, then I am deeply ashamed.  Just like I am ashamed of the American Cancer Society and their attitude toward childhood cancer.  It must be nice where they live.  Childhood cancer does not exist for them, or if it does, its threat is so small it’s considered unimportant.  After all, childhood cancer is “exceedingly rare,” isn’t it?

Not.

Here is the article.  I agree with every single word in it.  It was written by a mom who has watched her daughter battle rhabdomyosarcoma (cancer of the muscles) twice since the age of three.  46/7 – those are the numbers, as least for North America.  This happens EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.  And it is why cancer is the #1 disease killer of children.  And as this article states, there have only been TWO FDA-approved drugs for childhood cancer in the last two decades.  I don’t know if it is because people are lazy, blind, or just plain stupid.  If children do not come first, one day there won’t be any need for ACS because all they support, basically, are breast,  lung, and prostrate cancers.  And they call themselves American Cancer Society, the “official” sponsor of birthdays?  I don’t know about you, but when I think of birthdays, I think, first and foremost about children.  They actually get excited about their birthdays, whereas adults tend to lie about their ages.

CHILDREN ARE THE FUTURE.  SAVE THEM, AND SAVE THE FUTURE.  Why is that so hard to understand?

I'd love to know what you think!

