I Cannot Believe I Haven’t Posted This Here Yet

 

BEST.  VIDEO. EVER.  On youtube, at least.  And what makes it even better, for me at least, is that this hospital, Seattle Children’s, is the hospital where I was at, where I received my treatments for neuroblastoma.

Whenever I’m having a bad day, all I have to do is go to youtube and watch this video.  It speaks volumes to me.  It says kids are innocent.  It tells me that even when they do not feel well, they still find ways to make the world a better place (and the world is indeed a better place for having this video exist…  thank you, Kelly Clarkson, for making it possible).  It is full of hope and courage and spiciness.  It says, “Even though we are little, we are big too, and we will not be easily defeated.”  It says, “Cancer?  What?  You thought you had me beat?  Hahahahaha!”  It says “Eff you, cancer” better than anything else I’ve ever seen.

I have learned things from the children I follow on Facebook, and I’m still learning.  Kids are resilient.  Kids are brave, even when faced with the unthinkable.  They rise up and meet this monster called childhood cancer and they fight it.  Sometimes, if they are lucky, they are victorious.  Like I was.  But in my case, everything was different.  I fell so hard and so fast no one could move fast enough to catch me.  But that’s okay.  God knew what he was letting into my life, and He knew that I’d be stronger for it, in the end.  I’ve come to the realization that I need to embrace all that I was and all that I am to become all that I will be tomorrow.  And these kids?  Their parents?  They’re my inspiration.  They’re all I see, day in and day out.  People have got to wake up to the truth of 46 kids diagnosed, 7 kids dead, 365 days a year.  EVERY.  SINGLE.  YEAR.  Cancer does not rest, so why should we?

2 thoughts on “I Cannot Believe I Haven’t Posted This Here Yet

I'd love to know what you think!

