4th of July

Today, I am leaving with my parents and sister for San Diego…  my best friend from high school is getting married!  Because we are going to be gone until Monday, I am going to try to schedule posts.  I am taking part in the Ultimate Blog Challenge again this month and I don’t want to fall too far behind.   I just realized too, that yesterday, I hit the one year mark for writing on this blog.  I’m amazed that I stuck with it this long.  So yay for that.  After this, writing a novel should be a piece of cake, right?

This is the first Independence Day I’ve spent away from home in years.  I remember when we used to rent a house in a cul-de-sac in town, the whole neighborhood would come together for a potluck party and fireworks after dark.  I remember sitting on a lawn chair wrapped in a blanket watching other kids run around and the adults light fireworks.  And then other July 4ths, I remember watching the fireworks on TV.  And the first July 4th I had my shih tzu Buffy, my sister and I took her to the fireworks display at a park.  I had fun showing Buffy off, but she did not enjoy the fireworks one bit.  Good thing she was on a leash!  And July 4th 2009 was my niece’s first Independence Day.  Aliza was almost 5 months old, so she didn’t have any idea what day it was, but we did have fun dressing her up for a photo session though, as always!  Aliza is such a lovely child, and I miss her very much when she is not here.  Nowadays, when I see her, no matter how much time has passed since I saw her last, I always say, “How much did you miss me?  To the moon and back?”  And she smiles and says, “Yeah, and that’s it!”  Little Miss Smartypants!

July 4th, 2009

July 1, 2012

 

 

 

 

I'd love to know what you think!

