Love and Gratitude

It’s been a while (again) since I last did a gratitude list.  This week is perfect to do one, because although I won’t be home when this publishes, I will be in a place that is full of love, laughter, happiness, and yes, there will be at least some tears.  But these will be happy tears, because my best friend is marrying the love of her life today.

So this is what I am thankful for:

1.  My mom and dad, who are the best ever.  Without them, I would be unmotivated, uninspired…  Aaugh!  Who am I kidding here?  Without my parents, I would not even exist!  My mom and dad believe in me – they have since the moment they knew they were expecting me, despite my being a surprise (!) baby.  And without them, I would not be where I am now, both literally and figuratively.  Because they NEGU (Never Ever Give Up) on me, I NEGU either.  I am indebted to my parents, always.

2.  My friendship with Tammy – she is my best friend from high school, and I am so happy that she asked me to stand up for her today.  We’ve both been through a lot in our lives, both individually and together, and I am so happy that she  found Curtis, and that they will be building a future together on a foundation built from love, trust, friendship, loyalty, and everything else that is good.  I was changed from day one of my and Tammy’s friendship, because on that day, I started to learn that anything was possible and that life may seem limited but it isn’t really – The only limits I had were imaginary.  I so hope today is everything Tammy envisioned and more.  She deserves it!

3.  I am grateful for the little things, such as sleep (which is really a big thing, because no one can live without it for very long), helping hands, no matter who they belong to, because I have always and will always need help in this life, the ability to laugh despite the pain of life.  And I am really, really, really grateful to God, who has not left me, not even for a second, since the moment I took my first breath, even before that moment.  That still, small voice deep inside of me is the true reason why I NEGU.

 

One thought on “Love and Gratitude

I'd love to know what you think!

