Yesterday, I got a nice little surprise…

When I logged onto Facebook yesterday, I had a notification that said someone (Katrina Davies Hutchesson) had tagged me in a post, and when I clicked on it, the link took me to the UBC group, and I saw her blog post in which she nominated me, along with four other bloggers, for the Fabulous Blog Ribbon award.  Thanks so much, Kat!  I am very excited and honored by this! It was a wonderful surprise, and it is always gratifying to know that people are reading what I write even if they are silent readers (don’t be silent).

With this award came a writing prompt!  I just love writing prompts because they remind me of high school English class and writing in a journal for the first 15-20 minutes of class.  Give me a topic and I can write you a page.  Or maybe a book.  But not in 15-20 minutes.

After thanking the person who nominated me, I now have to make lists – one of my favorite things to do!  The first list has to have my 5 most fabulous moments, the second list has to have 5 things I love, the third list, 5 things I hate, and the last list, I have to nominate 5 deserving bloggers and include their links.  I think I am going to be here for a while….

FIVE MOST FABULOUS MOMENTS OF MY LIFE (SO FAR)

  1. The moment I found out that I was going to get a baby sister.  I was 7, and wanted a sister very badly.  I already had 2 brothers, and I did NOT want another one.  Can you blame me?
  2. The moment I realized that that I can do anything I set my mind to…  Okay, so it wasn’t just one big moment, but lots of little ones.
  3. Reaching out and taking LeAnn Rimes’ hand (seriously) at a concert in Yuma, AZ in October 2008, and just for that moment, being connected to her.  The few seconds I looked into her eyes were so intense…
  4. Getting my shih tzu as a puppy in May 2008, and then becoming an aunt in February 2009. (2 for the price of one!)
  5. Actually meeting and greeting LeAnn Rimes when she came to Wenatchee a few months later (January 2009)

Of course, there are more, but the Fabulous Blog Ribbon award just calls for five…

FIVE THINGS I LOVE

  1. My family and friends, of course.  They’re the best people I could have ever hope to surround myself with.  They pick me up when I fall and they have loved me through everything.  My niece Aliza brings me more joy then she will ever know.
  2. My shih tzu, Buffy.  Because of her, I talk more and am never alone, because she is never far.  She knows she is mine, all mine.  And she makes me laugh!  And I love snuggling with my furbaby.
  3. Writing – Because of my speech impairment, I often cannot be understood when I talk, but when I write, it’s a totally different story.  And also, I like getting lost in imaginary worlds and asking myself, what if this happens and what if that happens.
  4. Reading – I also love getting lost in other imaginary worlds I did not create.  There is no better escape from reality than a book.
  5. Watching TV/DVDs – Another escape from reality.  Also the reason why I dislike reality TV – other than The Glee Project, of course.

FIVE THINGS I HATE

  1. All cancer, but childhood cancer the most.  It picks on the most innocent victims. 46/7 needed to stop decades ago.
  2. Being told I can’t do something.  I just say, “WATCH ME!”
  3. Spicy food.  My tongue will not tolerate it.
  4. Lies.  In the cancer world, sadly, this is becoming more and more of a problem.  People will say that they are sick for attention or worse – their child is sick – or whatever, and it is just not cool.  Cancer is nothing to joke about.  Scamming is a crime, and sooner or later, these people WILL get caught.
  5. Reality TV – Seriously, people?  Ugh.  People getting rich off their problems or famous because they do stupid things, oy…  Just oy!

Nominations

  1. Brian Jones http://briansphirstblog.blogspot.com
  2. Christine Sinness Calvin http://inspire-to-create.blogspot.com
  3. Sara Dean http://que-sarasara.blogspot.com
  4. Rev. Kebba Buckley Button http://upbeatspiritualliving.wordpress.com
  5. Maya Thompson http;//rockstarronan.com  (just had to throw this one in here, though she isn’t a part of UBC)
5 thoughts on “Yesterday, I got a nice little surprise…

  1. I’ve been enjoying reading these as the ribbon has made the rounds, getting to know the authors just a little bit better. Congratulations! And, btw, I’m right there with you on the reality TV thing. 😉

  2. Pingback: UBC #23: Loves & hates & the Fab Blog Award | Chazz Writes

I'd love to know what you think!

