A Dark Night at the Movies in Aurora, CO

Yesterday, America woke up to the news that at a midnight screening of the new Batman movie, “The Dark Knight Rises,” there had been a mass shooting in Aurora, CO, a mere 15 miles from Littleton, where the Columbine High School massacre took place in April 1999.  I saw this just after I saw little Ava Gioe passed away, and it was like a double whammy.  As if a child’s death wasn’t enough (plus 6), this had to happen?  And on top of that, one of the victims is a three-or-four-month-old baby, who was injured but has been released from the hospital, and a 6-year-old girl, who is gone forever.  I do not know what these babies were doing at a midnight screening.  They should have been tucked safely in their beds.  I wish they were, and I bet you anything that their families do too.  

I watched the first movie in the trilogy when it came out on DVD, and I can’t say that I remember much of it, but I do remember that Batman’s parents were killed, murdered, by someone when he was just a child.  Years later, he seeks revenge, but someone else beats him to it.  So he disguises himself and uses the image of the bat to make criminals fear him.  This is when he decides to help others who are victimized by sinister characters.  This is a true hero, very much like Matthew McQuinn,  the young man who dived in front of his girlfriend and her brother to be a human shield for them during the killing spree at the movie theater.  At least twelve people were killed and approximately fifty-eight people were injured that night.  It is the largest mass shooting in the United States since the massacre at Virginia Tech in 2007, which killed thirty-two people and wounded fifteen others.

What if when someone goes to buy guns or any other kind of weaponry, they have to have a document signed by a licensed psychiatrist stating that he or she is of sound mind and that it is safe to sell the person the merchandise?  That the person is not a threat to society.  I mean, this is completely ridiculous.  Do you think people wake up in the morning and suddenly decide that they’re going to kill a bunch of random people that day?  I don’t.  I think something like this festers over time.  Even though he still could have used knives, a car, explosives, poison, etc, etc, I think something like this could have been prevented.  The alleged perpetrator’s own mother knew right away that her son had to have been involved when she heard the news.  How awful is that?  To know that your child is capable of such horrific deeds?

I cannot even imagine.  Just like I can’t imagine the pain of the family of one of the young women who was killed.  Jessica Ghawi had narrowly escaped the Eaton Centre Mall shooting in Toronto early last month.  I read her account of that day on her blog.  She wrote, “I was shown how fragile life was on Saturday. I saw the terror on bystanders’ faces. I saw the victims of a senseless crime. I saw lives change. I was reminded that we don’t know when or where our time on Earth will end. When or where we will breathe our last breath.”

Every second of every day is a gift, she said.  And that, my dear readers, is the truth.

I'd love to know what you think!

