If I were on a magazine cover


I am going to use the UBC prompt from yesterday, because it inspires me.  If I were on a magazine cover, it would definitely be either Writer’s Digest or some magazine dealing with childhood cancer issues, like Touched By Cancer magazine.  It would be an absolute dream come true to be on the cover of the first, because if I was, I would have had written a novel and gotten published.  And it would definitely be a honor to be on the second, because I would be sharing my story with the people who need to hear it the most – parents, patients, other survivors, etc. etc.

With the Writer’s Digest cover story, I could even spread the word about childhood cancer, since that is what my novel is about (not “is going to be about” but IS).  And maybe, just maybe, I could inspire another writer to take up the topic and run with it.  Children suffering from pediatric cancer need to be upfront and center, because our future, our very livelihood as a society, a country, a world, depends on them.  If they perish, their promise also perishes, and we are left with nothing but the what-if questions.  What if that child had a chance to grow up and be someone?  Who would he or she have been?  Lights are blown out all over the world every single day because of this monster.  Hope dies.  Sorrow reigns.  This is what I want to expose – the relentlessness of this monster.

I haven’t told my story enough, and I don’t think I ever will until there is as much (or more would be nice) childhood cancer awareness out there as there is breast cancer awareness, until we are finding cures left and right, until the truth is heard by the masses or until I take my last breath.  And if I have to, I will continue to fight this fight from the other side.   I’ll haunt politicians, if that is what it takes.  They can take their stupid form letters that their people write for them and…  what Minny Jackson said in The Help.   I’m writing for the kids, and they need help.  I fail to see the difficulty in understanding that.

2 thoughts on “If I were on a magazine cover

  1. I look forward to reading your book when it is published!!! I have the first chapter of a book I am working on about having a child with cancer. Haven’t gotten much further than that however!

I'd love to know what you think!

