Taylor Swift Tonight, and the LOVE of an 8 year old

 

Please watch Stand UP to Cancer tonight if you can.  If you can’t, please record it.  Taylor Swift will be debuting her song, “Ronan” for the most beautiful little boy in the world.  Ronan Thompson’s story is why I am here today, fighting like hell to end childhood cancer.  Ronan was mere days from turning four when he passed away from neuroblastoma last May 9th.

Did you hear what I said?  Did you hear?  TAYLOR SWIFT WILL BE DEBUTING HER SONG FOR RONAN TONIGHT!

I freaking love Taylor Swift!  Also, I am gonna bawl my head off, so it is a good thing that I am recording it and can rewind it multiple times if I have to.

Taylor Swift reads Maya Thompson’s blog and she actually met Maya at one of her concerts (last year?  I don’t remember when I read it but I remember everything that was in the post) after Ronan passed, and she cried and hugged Maya and told her that she and her parents read her blog, and Maya was like, “Wow!”

It is the little things sometimes that remind you just how beautiful the world is, how beautiful the world is capable of being.  Yes, it is hard and ugly at the same time, with empty places where our beloved dead once were.  But the world is still capable of being beautiful, and thank you, Taylor Swift, for reminding my friend Maya of that.  Thank you for making her smile through her tears.  I seriously didn’t think I could love you anymore than I already did, but I was wrong, of course.  Love, when it is pure and true, has no limits.

One other thing brought me to happy tears this week.  You can read the story here.  It begins, ” When 8-year-old Wyatt Erber entered a scavenger hunt sponsored by a bank, he already had a plan for the winnings: to give the money to neighbors on Sequoia Drive whose young daughter recently began battling leukemia…”

Yes, love is what makes the world beautiful.

 

2 thoughts on “Taylor Swift Tonight, and the LOVE of an 8 year old

I'd love to know what you think!

