TheTruth365 Day 4: What is your Truth? Contest

As part of TheTruth365 pre-release plan, they’re having a contest, a series of contests.  What a great idea, right?  Engage the public!  In the first contest, they are inviting everyone to submit a video in which they explain what the phrase The Truth 365 means to them (not the film, but the words), based on their observations and experiences.  What is your reality or observations about childhood cancer?  They will pick up to three videos and include clips of them in the main film, or, if they can’t, some other future highlight film (meaning this year is just year one of TheTruth365…  Next September, they – WE – will be back).    They got the idea for this contest when a friend of theirs, a mother who had lost her son last year. surprised them by posting a video of of her son’s final resting place and talking about what this movement meant to her.  They included the video in their day 4 preview.

They are asking people to post their entries as a video response to their video.  The deadline is Friday, September 21 at 11 pm, but they are nice and will let you post after the contest is over if you would like to.   They will not be judging the videos based on technical quality or who has the “best” story.  They will pick ones that reach them in an unique and creative way.  All videos must have the phrase “The Truth 365” appear as an audible or visual element.

You can watch the video that Caryn Franca posted here in TheTruth365 day 4 preview.

What is my truth?  My truth is… I hope that one day, no other child will have to repeatedly ask his or her parents, “But how did I get this way?”  because the treatments they received as a baby broke their body.  No child should ever have to grow up the way I did, crying basically every single day of her childhood because she doesn’t understand why.  Why did it happen to me?  I’ll never know, not for sure, in this life,  But I think I know part of it.  So I could reach out and help raise awareness.  So I could be a part of the solution.  Nothing would make me happier.

My truth is I hope one day, no other teenager has to count his/her scars, and then accidentally find the one that was hidden, where the port or line was.  My truth is, I knew what it was even without asking.

My truth is pain, because the radiation I received back then killed some cells in my spine, and as I grew, I developed severe scoliosis.  NO OTHER CHILD.  That is my mantra,

My truth is  anger and horror, because what in the world have they been doing in the last 3 decades?  Not enough for childhood cancer.  Only one drug has been approved to treat pediatric cancer since I had it?  ONE.  And it has almost been 30 years.  My truth is horror, because I cannot believe that the government gives less than 4% annually to childhood cancer research.  Really, U.S.A?  That is how much you believe in the future?  Children are EVERYTHING to this world, and you are willing to throw them away like yesterday’s trash?

My truth is heartbreak, and my truth is tears for the families who lose their babies too soon.  Not enough time to memorize everything about their treasured children.

That is my truth – the truth I have been living for the past year and a half.  I wish it has been longer.  I will be forever kicking myself because it hasn’t been longer.  I mean, really, what did I think?  Did I believe society’s lies that childhood cancer was so rare that it was actually a fluke that I got it?  There were clues everywhere – in my school, in the books I read – everywhere!  And yet, I didn’t think, I didn’t know how bad it was.  I didn’t want to know.  And now that I do know, I will never stop fighting.  Never.

“No power in the ‘verse can stop me.” ~ Kaylee and River, Firefly (Joss Whedon)

***

Like The Truth365 page here and help the word get out:  Kids get cancer too, and they cannot fight alone.

Sign the petition here to “support an increase in pediatric cancer funding by the National Cancer Institute with the goal of eliminating cancer cancer as a threat to all children” (what the petition says and what you are signing and agreeing to).

Visit my Facebook page and “like” it to join the fight against this monster called childhood cancer that keeps stealing the lives of children.
I'd love to know what you think!

